Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Very disappointed with this. I love ambrosia salad and was looking for a recipe. With all the rave reviews I thought I had found a good one. But this turned out sickly sweet and not at all what I was looking for. Needed much more fruit and the combination of the marshmallows with so much whipped topping put it over the edge for sweetness. Next time I'll try the one that uses sour cream. I think that's closer to the dish I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I doubled the recipe and made this for thirty people at a baby shower - it was a huge hit! There were NO leftovers! I took the advice of many other reviewers added pecans and apples (with skins - but no celery!), added red and green grapes, used less cool whip, used low fat cool whip, strained the canned fruit overnight, added a large box of pistachio instant pudding to the whipped topping and substituted sour cream for the milk - made it very thick and creamy, not runny at all, and the colors of the fruit looked great - together it was a perfect combination! I tossed it lightly with my hands and it was so simple. You can't go wrong with this recipe - add any fresh fruit you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Excellent recipe. Everyone LOVED this!!! I made this twice in the last week. The first time I made it with strawberry Cool Whip and used two cans of mandarin oranges. It was really good (a little too much coconut though). The second time I made it I used regular Cool Whip but added a box of instant pistachio pudding to the Cool Whip and then added the rest of the stuff, still using two cans of mandarin oranges. I only used about 1 1/4 cups of coconut this time. Everyone raved about this recipe with the pistachio pudding in it. I will definitely make it this way from now on. Thanks for the recipe Didi!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I just love AMBROSIA! BUT here is what I do.. I dont measure, just use what you think looks and tastes best! cream cheese (creamed.....) or sour cream real whipped cream (beat in vanilla & sugar) pineapple, crushed can mandarin oranges mini-marshmallows coconut cherries spalsh 1/2 & 1/2 splash orange juice little pineapple juice from can sugar if needed.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Really good fruit salad! I omitted the milk and added 1 cup of chopped pecans and a teaspoon of vanilla. I think it would be good with more fruit too, maybe even some bananas. Update: do not omit the milk unless you will be eating this salad the same day. Overnight the marshmallows absorb all the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
I've never made this before and I needed something easy in a hurry. Great recipe and tastes incredibly yummy. For those who are recipe-challenged like me, the 3 1/2 cups whipping cream comes out to roughly an 8 oz tub. It's ever so slightly less, but not enough to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Amazing stuff. I made it for a few friends at a barbeque and they loved it. I did add some other kinds of fruit (grapes and apples). Can't wait to make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was delicious! Just like I remember it at all of my family picnics when I was little. I did leave out the coconut and served it on the side (my husband hates coconut) and I also added 1/2 cup of sour cream for extra creaminess and tang. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I made this for a church picnic last night and it disappeared in no time. I'm glad I taste-tested it before I left home because there was none left when it was my turn in line! It tasted great and I will definitley be making this recipe many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
We love this ambrosia. I have just altered this a little bit to our taste. I use 2 cans oranges, 1 can crushed pineapple, 3 cups cool whip, 1 cup sour cream, 2 heaping cups marshmallows, and 1jar of cherries. Oh, if I have grapes I throw some halved grapes in too. This really gets better with chill time. It is great to make it the night before. Delicious. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States