Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great Recipe! I modified it based on the suggestions of others-added 1/2 box of instant pastachio pudding, used 1/4 cup of coconut, used a can of fruit cocktail, and used lite cool whip. I omitted the milk cause I was afraid it was going to make it soggy. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Really good fruit salad! I omitted the milk and added 1 cup of chopped pecans and a teaspoon of vanilla. I think it would be good with more fruit too, maybe even some bananas. Update: do not omit the milk unless you will be eating this salad the same day. Overnight the marshmallows absorb all the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I was never a big ambrosia fan until I found this recipe. Now I can't get enough of it! I used the suggestion of other reviewers of adding pistachio pudding mix in and I think that's what really makes the recipe. I also add extra fruit, such as chopped apples, bananas, grapes, etc. We found the coconut and marshmallows to be a bit much, so we only use 1 cup of each now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for my sister's graduation party BBQ. My grandmother absolutely loved this recipe. I thought it would've been better with about half the milk (or less.) But, it's hard to go wrong with this mix of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a very good dessert salad. My husband is a very picky eater but ate this with dinner and took it for left overs the next day!! I did double the amount of mandarin oranges the recipe called for because I wanted more fruit in my recipe, as is it looks kind of bland. I am sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Nice option for weekday dessert. I took a reviewer's advice, used the juice of the maraschino jar. My husband loves coconut, so this was a great option. Asked for seconds two days in a row! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LazyForTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Absolutley wonderful! Ive got a big sweet tooth and this doesnt make me feel so bad. Its got the great sweet taste but the fruit will make up for the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccernerd1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very tasty and well received at the party I attended. Instead of sour cream, I used 1 8-oz container of low fat, plain yogurt. I also used almost a 16-oz container of Cool Whip and extra fruit. Chilling the ingredients beforehand helps if you want to prepare and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I'm not a fan of Coconut so I generally make two versions of this -- one with the Coconut and one without. This is a great dish to bring for parties - everyone loves it and it's fairly inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made this for my husband for Father's Day dessert and it was a hit. Even my three year old wanted some. The only thing I did different was substituting cool whip with fresh heavy whipped cream (3/4 cup cream with about 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla). I also added a can of fruit cocktail. Overall, I adjusted the amount of the coconut and marshmallow to my desirable taste. Will definitely make this again for my next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States