Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The best ambrosia I've ever made! We aren't big coconut fans in my family, so I sprinkle just a little in the mixture and serve the rest on the side for others to use as garnish. I also use a larger can of pineapple, an 8oz. tub of Cool whip, and don't use the milk or cherries. This dish is always requested for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Being born, raised and still living in the Deep South, I know good Ambrosia and this is GOOD Ambrosia. It's SO good that when I asked my friends what to bring to Thanksgiving Dinner, they said for me to bring one thing...this Ambrosia. It's the best I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is a very good recipe. I followed others suggestions and used an 8 oz tub of cool whip, 1/2 cup of sour cream and left out the coconut. I also tossed in more mandarin oranges (I love them). This reminded me of a recipe my aunt made years ago. A big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Really good. After I noted some other suggestions here on reviews, I added a little sour cream to cut the cool whip sweeteness a bit and a touch of milk to thin out. And I only used 1 cup of coconut...2 just seemed like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This worked well for me as a base to start from. I added a greater variety of fruit and left out the cherries. Next time I may throw in some nuts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I just love AMBROSIA! BUT here is what I do.. I dont measure, just use what you think looks and tastes best! cream cheese (creamed.....) or sour cream real whipped cream (beat in vanilla & sugar) pineapple, crushed can mandarin oranges mini-marshmallows coconut cherries spalsh 1/2 & 1/2 splash orange juice little pineapple juice from can sugar if needed.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
You just cannot mess this up!!! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
THIS RECIPE IS SIMPLE DELICIOUS! PERFECT FOR SUMMER. I will make this again, and again! Thank You. I love this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was delicious! Just like I remember it at all of my family picnics when I was little. I did leave out the coconut and served it on the side (my husband hates coconut) and I also added 1/2 cup of sour cream for extra creaminess and tang. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
A delicious summer dessert, not too sweet. Better if chilled overnite. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States