Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was a good base but like others I tweaked it a little. I added some fruit cocktail, a banana(put a little lemon juice on it and it won't turn brown), an apple and instead of milk I used sour cream...yummy. also added some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is always a hit at family gatherings. I like to add a can of fruit cocktail to this recipe to give it even more pizazz. I include the juice and add a handful more marshmallows so it isn't too juicy. It's a regular recipe used around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
this recipe made way too much but it was very yummy! i recommend cutting the recipe in 1/2. you still will have a lot to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-s-t-a-r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was my first attempt at making a fruit salad and it turned out great. I following some suggestions. I used only 20oz of cool whip and used a stick of cream cheese. I used less coconut and added a can of fruit cocktail and a couple of apples for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOEY ANNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
just how i used to have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
In my opinion: * less coconut * 20 oz can crushed pineapple * 1 cup chopped walnuts ...will make it better otherwise, good but i like the watergate salad better (the pistachio mix version)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wonderful! I added 1 cup of walnuts and 3 bananas and everyone loved it! My all-time favorite recipe for ambrosia to date! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I was a little leary of this being good when I was mixing it. But after I tried it I couldn't believe how great it tasted! I used a bit more mandarin oranges and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Yummy! I used 1 large can fruit cocktail, 1 medium can tropical fruit cocktail, 1/2 cup coconut mixed with 1 cup whipped cream and 1/2 cup sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The best ambrosia I've ever made! We aren't big coconut fans in my family, so I sprinkle just a little in the mixture and serve the rest on the side for others to use as garnish. I also use a larger can of pineapple, an 8oz. tub of Cool whip, and don't use the milk or cherries. This dish is always requested for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States