Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The rum was way too intense in these, I think I would cut it down next time or use a flavored rum. They were easy to make so that is definitely a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
These were great. Easy, although a tad bit time consuming rolling the balls. I used Malibu Rum and tried to roll in coconut, but it wouldn't stick, so I just mixed the coconut in and rolled it in regular white sugar (not powdered sugar). They were great soft, just made and even better the next day cold from the fridge. I thought the rum mixture was just right, but maybe because I used a smoother rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very good rum ball. Taste best chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These were awesome. Definitely better after a couple of days because I had a couple (okay, more than a couple) immediately after I made them and thought for a second that I just had a shot of rum. I took everyone's advice and put the vanilla wafers and the nuts (I used pecans) through the food processor first. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made these last year for my husband's work & will definitely make again! I agree with the others that coconut rum tastes best though! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
fast,easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
very strong! but great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've been making this recipe for years now but I've tweaked it a bit for my family. First of all, I don't drink so I tend to use whatever alcohol is leftover from the previous years baking. Because of that my family calls these "Booze Balls" and no one really cares what alcohol is in them! This year they have brandy in them. One trick I have learned is to use the food processor to turn the wafers into a flour. Then I add the alcohol and mix well and let it sit for about an hour. The alcohol mixed with the wafer flour will form a dough. I knead it, much as I would bread dough. Doing this I end up with a velvety soft and creamy texture to the finished cookies. No one in my family likes nuts so they are omitted. After the base dough is ready I add the cocoa and sugar. I knead this into the dough. Yes, it is a bit time consuming but it's worth it in the end. Then I continue on with the corn syrup and the rest of the directions. I store them in a tight container with sugar in the bottom. I gently invert the container then right it to recoat the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACCER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Made 2 batches(US 48) to bring to work, everyone loved them. I used Jerry's Spiced Rum 90proof, only one complaint of being too strong. Served about 30 or so people, some had one and wanted more, others had 5 or 6(too much for one person at work). Recipe was easy, used a hand mixer for ease and consistency, poored rum in first and mixed then added corn syrup little by little. I rolled balls with spoons instead of hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is an easy recipe and it tastes good, although the rum taste is a little overwhelming. Don't expect a lot of chocolate flavor. The rum covers it completely. If I could have made a test batch in advance, I would have reduced the rum by about 2 Tablespoons and possibly rolled the balls in cocoa, or a mixture of cocoa and powdered sugar. Provided you do not mind the overwhelming alcohol flavor, the recipe is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States