Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
very strong! but great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've been making this recipe for years now but I've tweaked it a bit for my family. First of all, I don't drink so I tend to use whatever alcohol is leftover from the previous years baking. Because of that my family calls these "Booze Balls" and no one really cares what alcohol is in them! This year they have brandy in them. One trick I have learned is to use the food processor to turn the wafers into a flour. Then I add the alcohol and mix well and let it sit for about an hour. The alcohol mixed with the wafer flour will form a dough. I knead it, much as I would bread dough. Doing this I end up with a velvety soft and creamy texture to the finished cookies. No one in my family likes nuts so they are omitted. After the base dough is ready I add the cocoa and sugar. I knead this into the dough. Yes, it is a bit time consuming but it's worth it in the end. Then I continue on with the corn syrup and the rest of the directions. I store them in a tight container with sugar in the bottom. I gently invert the container then right it to recoat the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACCER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Made 2 batches(US 48) to bring to work, everyone loved them. I used Jerry's Spiced Rum 90proof, only one complaint of being too strong. Served about 30 or so people, some had one and wanted more, others had 5 or 6(too much for one person at work). Recipe was easy, used a hand mixer for ease and consistency, poored rum in first and mixed then added corn syrup little by little. I rolled balls with spoons instead of hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is an easy recipe and it tastes good, although the rum taste is a little overwhelming. Don't expect a lot of chocolate flavor. The rum covers it completely. If I could have made a test batch in advance, I would have reduced the rum by about 2 Tablespoons and possibly rolled the balls in cocoa, or a mixture of cocoa and powdered sugar. Provided you do not mind the overwhelming alcohol flavor, the recipe is fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These are sooo good. I have to slap myself to make me stop eating them. I used Barcardi Vanila Rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe to a "T" and found the rum flavor to be overwhelmingly strong and the texture of the cookie extremely dry. I have made rum balls in the past that were much better. I remembered that the recipe then had called for 1/2 c. oil and much less rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are so shockingly good it is unreal! I would give 6 stars if I could. They truly are better after a few days. The texture solidifies a bit more and the flavors all combine into this wonderful mix, rather than any one flavor being dominant (the way the rum is at first). A tip - the texture is really best if you can mix with your hands, but it will get your hands a total mess because the cookie mix is very, very sticky at first. It is best if you have another person to do the rolling in the powdered sugar or it gets to be a real mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My all-time favorite rum-ball recipe. If we want a less strong taste, we half the rum, but usually we switch out the light rum, for dark. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
SO EASY! SO DELICIOUS! This is a must make for any holiday season! They won't be around for long. I actually used dark rum and had to store them out in the garage so I wouldn't eat them all myself. I am making these for a cookie swap and need 6 dozen. One recipe goes a long way if you aren't eating them all while you are making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Perfect for the non-baker. Requests are coming in from family who recieved these last year at Christmastime,so I guess they are a big hit. Only change was the substitution of Malibu Rum as previously suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSY1350

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States