Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
MADE FOR DAD - HE LOVED THEM - GOOD RUM FLAVOR - EASY TO MAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
MKade some for the guys at work and now they ask for them all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very easy to make using the food processor for the vanilla waffers and nuts (we used pecans because of a walnut allergy). Like some reviewers I had trouble with the balls crumbling but instead of refrigerating, I just compressed the balls with my hands before tossing in the powdered sugar. Everyone loved them except the teenagers (who felt like "adults" because they could try them). Very rich and tasty - two went perfectly with coffee for a simple yet flavorful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
So simple yet so tasty! Made these as gifts for friends and co-workers. My friend sent me a text and said OMG, these rumballs rock! I used Malibu rum, and reduced the amount only slightly. They smelled awesome. I told DH that would be a great candle scent!! Will definitely make even more next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are AMAZING!!!!! I use Malibu Rum, which gives them a wonderful, fresh coconut flavor. As others have suggested, make sure you grind the wafers and nuts very fine. You don't want "chunks" in the rum balls. And they definitely taste better after a full day or two. These are always a hit and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious. I mixed almonds and walnuts and ground them in the blender and ground up the vanilla wafers too. I was afraid they would be too strong so I used light rum and used a little less than 1/2 cup. I could barely taste the rum. Next time I;ll go full power and maybe even use dark rum or whiskey for more kick. A great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne G Thom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Super easy and non-stick! No waiting for the dough to chill, just roll and go. I used about half the amount of nuts called for (ground hazelnuts), dark cocoa, and Meyers dark rum. They should be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Holy Moly! these are WONDERFUL! having tried chopping and roller pin-ing nuts earlier (and lacking a food processor) I used an old fashioned hand grinder (attach to the table like for grinding meat or whatever) and it was quick and easy! found this 'Universal' brand grinder in a thrift shop for $4! I made 2 double batches and used a melon scoop (scrape upwards on side of bowl to pack) and dropped them in a 5:1 powdered sugar:cocoa mixture. YUMMY! I used regular Captain Morgan rum. Giving these and other NO BAKE cookie ball types as Xmas gifts this year ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteIrishTiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
To much Rum, thats all I tasted and even smelled when I opened container will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States