Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
yummy! so easy to make and addicting! strong but goooooood! I used Bacardi Dark Rum. I will definitely keep this recipe and change it up many different ways. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The day I made them, they tasted fantastic. I let them sit over as some others suggested and it was WAY too strong. The ONLY thing I tasted was rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was looking for a quick filler for my cookie tray for hubs work three years ago when I found this one. It was perfect as is! I did make changes over the years. I now mix this in my food processor after I use it to crumb the vanilla wafers. I store the mix in an airtight container for two days then add 1/4 cup more rum. I use spiced run in place of the light rum. Then after two more days I roll into balls and in the confectioners' sugar. I think next year I may use a coconut rum and toasted coconut to roll them in. One year I ran out of rum and had to use some peach brandy I had in it's place, everyone loved them just as much. Hope this was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I brought these to a Christmas party after they had sat for 8 days to blend the flavors. The people that tried them loved them. I didn't think they had enough chocolate flavor so before bringing to the party I took cocoa powder and powdered sugar blended and rolled the balls. My husband said this made them better. Although I didn't try them again. My sister-in-law would like me to make them again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used Malibu Rum and kept everything (else) the same. Just finished these, and they already taste good. Can only imagine how delicious they'll be when I give them a couple of days to sit! Also, can only imagine if I had the willpower to sit around a few days waiting for them to get even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I add a 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips melted and used a little less then 1/2 cup of rum to moisten. I cut maraschino cherries in half and put them in the middle of the ball then rolled in powdered sugar Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Sending them to a friend in Afghanistan. They taste very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The key to make this recipe without an overwhelming rum flavor, is to make them a month or two ahead. Alcohol acts as a preservative, and the longer you let them sit, the more mellow the flavor becomes. Put them in an air tight container and shake once a week. Also, if you have enough time ahead, just soak the nuts in rum or bourbon for a few months, then make the balls. As long as your utensils and containers are clean, you won't have a problem. This was always a Christmas treat in my house. Mom would start soaking the nuts on the 4th of july, and by Christmas we had the most delicious, mellow rum balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Simple, delicious, and addictive! I left out the nuts for no particularly good reason other than being a cheapskate, and I slightly upped the amount of cocoa and rum (I used Malibu coconut, as per another reviewer's suggestion). I wouldn't have minded still a little more rum flavor/presence, but that's a personal taste issue. My guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
So easy and good! Didn't have rum. I had a choice between Bailey's irish cream and butterscotch schnapps. I went with the Bailey's and they are great! I really think the schnapps would have been good too though. Nabisco nilla wafers now come in an 11 oz package instead of 12. With that in mind, i cut down the liquid a little. I crushed the cookies in a ziploc bag with the side of my meat tenderizer, then i used the same bag for coating the 'Bailey's Balls' in the powdered sugar. Less dishes to wash. You gotta love that! I have a strong feeling these won't last the 2 or 3 days required ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States