Cocoa Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I started making these for the holidays a few years ago and they are always a hit especially with my stepdad. The first year I made exactly as shown but since them have made variations - this past year I made two batches - one with Frangelico and hazelnuts and the other with rasperry extract and vanilla rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandaclari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Easy to make and used Captain Morgans Black. No doubt the longer the cure the better. Not overpowering at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I love these Rum Balls, my ex made them every Christmas. If you can't handle the "overwhelming" rum (I prefer Captain Morgan Rum) flavor, start with little sips from a shot glass, and work up to the Rum Balls. NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert K. Tompsett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These taste very strong of alcohol so if that is what you are going for it is perfect. I ended up making a new batch using half the rum called for as these were going on holiday cookie trays.I used raspberry rum which I had on hand. I also used used the food processor to finely crush the cookies and nuts (almonds). The new batch was delicious and perfect for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
yummy! so easy to make and addicting! strong but goooooood! I used Bacardi Dark Rum. I will definitely keep this recipe and change it up many different ways. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Scheibe Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The day I made them, they tasted fantastic. I let them sit over as some others suggested and it was WAY too strong. The ONLY thing I tasted was rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was looking for a quick filler for my cookie tray for hubs work three years ago when I found this one. I was perfect as is! I did make changes over the years. I now mix this in my food processor after I use it to crumb the vanilla wafers. I store the mix in an airtight container for two days then add 1/4 cup more rum. I use spiced run in place of the light rum. Then after two more days I roll in the confectioners' sugar. I think next year I may use a coconut rum and toasted coconut to roll them in. One year I ran out of rum and had to use some peach brandy I had in it's place. Hope I was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I brought these to a Christmas party after they had sat for 8 days to blend the flavors. The people that tried them loved them. I didn't think they had enough chocolate flavor so before bringing to the party I took cocoa powder and powdered sugar blended and rolled the balls. My husband said this made them better. Although I didn't try them again. My sister-in-law would like me to make them again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used Malibu Rum and kept everything (else) the same. Just finished these, and they already taste good. Can only imagine how delicious they'll be when I give them a couple of days to sit! Also, can only imagine if I had the willpower to sit around a few days waiting for them to get even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I add a 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips melted and used a little less then 1/2 cup of rum to moisten. I cut maraschino cherries in half and put them in the middle of the ball then rolled in powdered sugar Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States