Cocoa Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was SO good! I used all the ingredients, but didn't have enough cumin and garlic powder, so I upped the onion powder a bit. I also halved the salt because I used this in a shaker bag with chicken legs. Roasted them in the convection oven at 375 and they came out very tasty and juicy. It made enough to thoroughly coat about 10 legs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was AWESOME!!! We put it on beef ribs for the 4th of July and didn't have a rib let.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I put this rub on a pot roast tonight and it was out of this world fantastic. My hubby just told me it was in the top 10 best I have ever cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made it this way: 1 tsp. each of salt, cocoa powder & instant espresso powder, 2 TBsps. brown sugar (omitted the regular sugar) and 1 TBsp. of everything else. I felt this kept the flavours in balance, without any of the components being over-powering. We rubbed it on chicken legs and baked on 350F for 45 mins. to 1 hour. I might increase the cocoa and espresso powder a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I halved the recipe and it made enough for 4 chicken breasts. Served "cocoa rubbed" chicken breast over alfredo pasta, we liked that it tasted like the blackened chicken pasta we order in restaurants. Very easy to prepare and the flavour had kick without being too hot for my liking. Will be a pantry standby for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Add my 5 stars to the list... Blending cocoa powder with common pantry spices makes bbq ribs pork-tastic! Thanks jcjeffers, I'll use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great Flavor! Used on grilled brisket and even on the charred (aka burnt) pieces it still was great! It's a great deep and garlicy flavor with just enough sweetness to taste, but not over-power. I did use only about 3T. of salt, but I don't think using the full 1/4c. would be bad....especially on a cut of meat without the thick layer of fat that the brisket had. Loved it!!****UPDATE: Great on beef ribs and chicken breast! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilTay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I was worried this would be too spicy, but I used this on a roast and it was awesome. My guests all went back for seconds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Holy Cow! This rub is the best thing to pass my taste buds in years! We used it on pork and beef ribs and it tasted different yet WONDERUL on each of them! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Wow! This rub was so tasty! I put it on thin slices of chicken and fried in olive oil. My boyfriend and I loved it. The only thing I changed was that I halved the amount of chili powder and black pepper and it wil still pretty spicy. I still have quite a bit of it left and can't wait to try it in something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States