Cocoa Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is a great base recipe! For those of you who are looking for a healthy alternative version, I made the following substitutions: 1.) 1 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup butter 2.) left out the white sugar 3.) 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of regular flour 4.) and I also added 1 cup of shredded zucchini to the batter along with the oats Obviously the end result is very different from what you would get with the original recipe, but it's a perfect healthy snack to send with the kids in their lunchboxes! My kids loved it and never guessed that there was zucchini in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very nice twist on a classic! Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Perfect recipe, although I personally prefer to leave out the raisins. Also, I always refrigerate cookie dough for about an hour before dropping onto the cookie sheet and baking; it helps the butter to stiffen, and the cookies don't go flat. I have not tried this recipe without refrigerating the dough first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Alright, but it seems like they have too much butter. They came out a little greasy. I did add a lot of coconut to them-- double yummyness! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Excellent cookies, I just made them. Easy to make, simple ingredients and SO yummy, perfectly moist and don't overly spread out on the sheet. I will make these again soon because I know they won't last the weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My husband rated these cookies a 3 out of 5. They are okay, but nothing to rave about...a little bland. Next time, I would add some chocolate chips or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
this is a pretty good recipe. a little dry though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
AWESOME COOKIES!!! my family doesn't like raisins though...we used chocolate chips. Mmmmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Really delicious cookies. I tripled the batch and froze 2/3's of it. Also I added walnuts and used Dark Cocoa. The cookies came out better when I made them bigger. Just soft enough. This is a keeper recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These were delicious! I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and our youth group loved them! We thought they tasted like a no bake cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Mood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States