Cocoa-Coffee Spiced Chicken with Salsa Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe is awesome. I make it all the time. The salsa is outstanding. My family loves it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amityville, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I was not impressed with this dish. The taste combinations are unique, they're not bad. However, the coating on the chicken is awful. I had to drench the chicken in salsa. I even ground the coffee beans another time for an extra fine texture. The salsa recipe is way off. I put in half as much onions and garlic, yet it was all I could taste. I had to add tomato paste and jarred salsa to tame it down a bit. I recommend using less garlic, onion, and avocado than suggested (note: I didn't add chocolate chips). This recipe is worth another try because the taste isn't bad, it just needs a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Great recipe. We all enjoyed it and it's so easy. Cook time of 20 minutes was plenty if you use 4-5 oz breasts. Reduced the salt to 2 tsp. Reduced the chocolate chips to 3 Tbsp. Spooned the salsa over the chicken as soon as it came out of the oven, but even then had some unmelted chips. Next time, I'll microwave the salsa for about 10 seconds and stir in the chocolate before serving for a more blended flavor. Thanks, Roxanne. It's fun to have such a simple version of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I must admit that after the first bite, I wasn't quite sure about this recipe....but keep eating! It gets better! Not bad at all...very interesting taste. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Quick & very Easy. Added more chicken & omitted the chocolate chips from salsa. Served with a bean & a green salad for a "meat & potato" crowd. Went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I hate to write a bad review but this was terrible. Thank God I just made one serving for myself. I forced down three bites before I had to dump this out. It was so bitter and salty it was inedible. I followed the recipe exactly and can't believe this won first place in any contest. Salsa was ok. I am sorry Roxanne, but I will never make this again. Anyone else wanting to try this should seriously consider making one serving for themselves before preparing for anyone else. It has a very different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Sorry, but this was just ok. I thought the chocolate chips in the Salsa Mole did taste a little odd when you bit into them, but my family didn't think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Yum! This was the best chicken recipe I've done. My husband is pretty picky and he loved it! I didn't have all the salsa ingredients, so I just added salsa I had on hand and it was great. It wasn't really chocolatey just in case people worry it'll taste weird, especially without the chocolate chips. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe sounded so strange yet had won first prize, I thought why not try it. It was absolutely delicious. The chicken had an equal combination of flavors and the salsa flavors just blended so nicely. Our dinner club said this is definitely a keeper. Now we know why this was chosen as a first prize winner. Thanks Roxanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
It was just okay. The chicken turned out pretty good, but I didn't like the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States