Cocoa Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Made them today and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rosemere, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These are delicious! I have had a box of bran buds sitting in my cupboard forever, and I think I'll soon be running out of them because I plan to make these muffins over and over again! YUM! They are not too sweet, but richly chocolatey tasting and with a nice banana hint, too. I made these with half and half regular flour and whole wheat flour, and also added a tablespoon of flax seed meal for even more fiber. These taste like an unhealthy chocolate muffin you'd buy at a convenience store, but are way, way better for you! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
These muffins are awesome! I got the recipe from my mom and have made two double batches, giving half of each away. I used a light tasting olive oil, because that's what I had. Instead of doubling chocolate chips, used 1/3 cup chips, 1/3 cup walnuts. Turned out great, though doubling the recipe yields fewer than 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
These are the best bran muffins I have ever made!!! Will be making them again for sure. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy lynch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I hate bran, so this recipe was a way for me to try to get more fibre in a muffin that tastes great. And this worked for me! Yum. Very moist and not overly sweet at all, which is how I prefer my baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Tasty muffins, not overly sweet. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great muffins !! I love bran so this was a nice change from the usual plain bran muffin. Great way to use those overripe bananas too. I also used Splenda and replaced half the flour with soy flour to bring the carb count down so my son & I could enjoy one on our lo-carb meal plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very tasty, moist muffin! Only changes I made was to use coconut oil (melted first), 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added an extra 1/2 cup bran flakes (sorry, Kelloggs...didn't have All Bran!) I might add more bran flakes next time - maybe a whole extra cup. All-in-all...I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States