Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cherrychip
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I make these all the time for Potluck...the only bad thing about them is keeping DH from devouring them all before-hand! I usually put the chocolate layer on top so I only have to use one bowl. I also sometimes add walnuts and/or chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe! Don't change anything! Too many people add and/or change recipes - this is great as shown!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Wow!!! This really is "the Best!" I followed the recipe with amazing results. The only minor problem I had was that the batter was slightly dry. I used two large bananas and I didn't really measure it out to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I would add 4 bananas to make it more moist. I had to add some milk to the cocoa mixture to thin it out, but otherwise it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! I do agree with the others about not changing a thing. Also, I noticed that 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas is about 4-5 bananas. Mine were medium size. Please make sure you measure otherwise the bars will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I make this recipe into muffins because when I made it into bars the bars were too thin. I pour them half and half like one of the pictures you see in the recipe album. They're very delicious. My girlfriend says out of all the muffins I make that these are the best. I always give these away too so we don't eat the whole batch. FIVE STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This recipe makes a delicious chocolate flavored banana cake. If you are expecting a bar cookie, or chewy brownie type..this recipe won't cut it. That being said, these are very good. I was a little worried about dryness as mentioned by several others so I used almost a full 2 cups of banana...perfect...very moist and the banana flavor comes through nicely. I though they could use a little something on the top. I made a peanut butter glaze (from this site) as suggested by another reviewer and just drizzled that over the top. With that addition, this recipe was 5 stars! Perhaps just a sifting of confectioner's sugar would be enough, but how can one go wrong with banana, chocolate and peanut butter all in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are excellent! I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a pie pan. The only other changes I made were substituting rum flavor for the vanilla (out of vanilla) and adding a bit extra banana. The bananas I mashed came out to 1/4 cup more than called for, but I threw it all in anyway. It came out very moist and flavorful! Definitely a keeper recipe. The best part was that I already had the ingredients. What a great way to use those extra bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were a hit, I would make them again, but with chocolate chips in the light batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I asked my Husband if he liked it, he said, "give this to noone and make more", I think that is a YES! The only thing I did different is use a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adgtiger
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am so glad to see others saying review the recipe as written...if you want to change it until it is hardly recognizable then submit a new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States