Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This recipe makes a delicious chocolate flavored banana cake. If you are expecting a bar cookie, or chewy brownie type..this recipe won't cut it. That being said, these are very good. I was a little worried about dryness as mentioned by several others so I used almost a full 2 cups of banana...perfect...very moist and the banana flavor comes through nicely. I though they could use a little something on the top. I made a peanut butter glaze (from this site) as suggested by another reviewer and just drizzled that over the top. With that addition, this recipe was 5 stars! Perhaps just a sifting of confectioner's sugar would be enough, but how can one go wrong with banana, chocolate and peanut butter all in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by delicious&devine
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Yum! Yum! Decided to try these since I needed a break from my banana bread recipe. Followed the recipe but added some chocolate chips to the plain batter. Filled up 10 medium sized cupcake holes and baked for 25 minutes. I used three ripe bananas. Would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I swapped applesauce for half the butter, used white whole wheat flour for the flour, made them as cupcakes, and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent! Easy to make. A very nice change from banana bread (which I make all the time when I have 3 very ripe bananas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was so good!! I ended up using about four bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made a 1/2 recipe of these, but used the whole egg. I also used whole wheat flour (1 cup instead of 3/4 c) and added 1/3 c applesauce and only used 1/2 the butter. We enjoyed them. I think next time I'll add some chocolate chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am so glad to see others saying review the recipe as written...if you want to change it until it is hardly recognizable then submit a new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
so yummy! I like many others was looking for something other than banana bread to use up my bananas. I did what another reviewer did, added the plain batter to the pan first(then threw on some choc chips) and then put the coco batter on top. I had 3 very ripe banans and baked it for 25 min. I couldnt wait for them to cool, I was cutting them when they were still warm. I might sprinkle some powder sugar on them. This will be my go to recipe to use up bananas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made these exactly as instructed and took them to a potluck. They were a hit-everyone was raving and i came home with an empty pan! The swirl/marble design instructions didn't work for me at all though. it would have looked much better spooning the white batter onto the top in circles and then drawing a knife though the circles onto of the chocolate batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarpiper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Amazing. I always have too many bananas and was getting sick of making banana bread all the time. This was quicker and tastier. I even thought I had screwed these up by overmixing the two batters together, but they still turned out delicious. Just baked them until a toothpick came out clean. After they cooled completely I put half in the freezer to prevent me from inhaling them all over a few days. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States