Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cherrychip
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I make these all the time for Potluck...the only bad thing about them is keeping DH from devouring them all before-hand! I usually put the chocolate layer on top so I only have to use one bowl. I also sometimes add walnuts and/or chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe! Don't change anything! Too many people add and/or change recipes - this is great as shown!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Wow!!! This really is "the Best!" I followed the recipe with amazing results. The only minor problem I had was that the batter was slightly dry. I used two large bananas and I didn't really measure it out to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I would add 4 bananas to make it more moist. I had to add some milk to the cocoa mixture to thin it out, but otherwise it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Made the Cocoa Banana Bars without making any changes to the posted recipe. They are delicious. I may add a little more cocoa next time, but that is because I am a chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I asked my Husband if he liked it, he said, "give this to noone and make more", I think that is a YES! The only thing I did different is use a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adgtiger
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Simply Divine! I, too, like some other reviewers, added choc. chips to the banana batter. They were so yummy! My 4 year old son ate 10 in 2 days! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
09/05/10 I have made these bars numerous times since my initial review a year and a half ago and when I wrote the review I had made them several times. Going over some of the reviews since my initial comments, I wanted to state that I also was not crazy about these bars when I first made them. I started using Ghiradelli ground chocolate instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder. I think it really, really improves the taste and texture. I also add nuts (either walnuts or pecans) to the batter or sprinkled on top and pressed in. The Ghiradelli product is sweetened so it does end up sweeter than the original recipe, but didn't think it was too sweet. It is more cakey than brownie, but I think in a good way. Using the Ghiradelli makes it richer too and I'm glad I tried the recipe again. The Chocolate Icing recipe from this site is also great and I use the Ghiradelli in that, as well. 03/22/09 Great way to use ripe bananas without going to the tried and true Banana Bread. I always like a marbled cake or cookie and this turned out great. I did find a recipe on Allrecipes called Chocolate Icing that I revised somewhat to frost the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Photo by ghost33
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
i needed to bake something for my dads birthday.so, before i just handed it over i needed a "tester". not only did my tester enjoy every bite, but i had to "block out" the space around it cuz he wanted more! it was, past tense, delicious. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghost33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RONNIE102369
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Heavenly! A perfect blending of chocolate and banana. I agree about not changing a recipe, but I didn't have the exact ingredients needed; so I did have to improvise. I only had Hershey's Special Dark cocoa, so I added 1/4 cup sugar to my dark cocoa and batter. My 13 x 9 pan was in the dishwasher, so I made cupcakes instead and they baked for 25 minutes. The only reason they lasted 5 hours is because we weren't home to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNIE102369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States