Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by delicious&devine
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Yum! Yum! Decided to try these since I needed a break from my banana bread recipe. Followed the recipe but added some chocolate chips to the plain batter. Filled up 10 medium sized cupcake holes and baked for 25 minutes. I used three ripe bananas. Would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I swapped applesauce for half the butter, used white whole wheat flour for the flour, made them as cupcakes, and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent! Easy to make. A very nice change from banana bread (which I make all the time when I have 3 very ripe bananas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was so good!! I ended up using about four bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made a 1/2 recipe of these, but used the whole egg. I also used whole wheat flour (1 cup instead of 3/4 c) and added 1/3 c applesauce and only used 1/2 the butter. We enjoyed them. I think next time I'll add some chocolate chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am so glad to see others saying review the recipe as written...if you want to change it until it is hardly recognizable then submit a new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
so yummy! I like many others was looking for something other than banana bread to use up my bananas. I did what another reviewer did, added the plain batter to the pan first(then threw on some choc chips) and then put the coco batter on top. I had 3 very ripe banans and baked it for 25 min. I couldnt wait for them to cool, I was cutting them when they were still warm. I might sprinkle some powder sugar on them. This will be my go to recipe to use up bananas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made these exactly as instructed and took them to a potluck. They were a hit-everyone was raving and i came home with an empty pan! The swirl/marble design instructions didn't work for me at all though. it would have looked much better spooning the white batter onto the top in circles and then drawing a knife though the circles onto of the chocolate batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarpiper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Amazing. I always have too many bananas and was getting sick of making banana bread all the time. This was quicker and tastier. I even thought I had screwed these up by overmixing the two batters together, but they still turned out delicious. Just baked them until a toothpick came out clean. After they cooled completely I put half in the freezer to prevent me from inhaling them all over a few days. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! These taste great and are simple to make! I followed the recipe exactly and think it's simply wonderful! The bars are easy to cut, which is a bonus. I drizzled melted chocolate over the top to make them look a bit fancier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States