Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
These bars were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. The cake was actually pretty light and fluffy, it was a lot lighter than other banana cake recipes that I have tried. I also sprinkled the top with chocolate chips. Thanks for the great recipe, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennmack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. This is by far the BEST banana bread/cake recipe I have used in the last 20 years! I will not be using any other again. Dont make any changes and like other reviewers have stated measure your bananas - I used 3 med and 1 large banana for this recfipe. Thank you so much for sharing, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is most definately a cake. I think they call them bars because they come out thinner. Otherwise this recipe is really good. Cake was moist. The recipe calls for dividing the batter in two and adding cocoa to half, however because there isn't that much batter it was almost impossible to do two layers because it is to thick to spead thinnly. If I make this again I will do it in a 9x9 pan or make 1 1/2 times the recipe to fill a 9x13 pan to make it into a cake since that is what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were really tasty, but more cake-like than I thought they'd be. I guess because they're called bars, I expected them to be denser and moister, more like a brownie consistency. I sprinkled the top with walnuts which complimented the chocolate-banana flavor and added a little crunch. I could see making these in a cupcake pan and passing them off as muffins--they'd be delicious with a cup of coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made these as birthday cupcakes and they were a hit even without icing! I ran out of sugar, so my final amount was more like 3/4 c. vs. 1 c. They were still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaturalGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I have made this twice now, Great both times. Great just the way it is. I did use 5 bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I wasn't exactly turned off by these... but I was't overly excited about them, either. A little bland flavour- neither the banana or the chocolate really came through. I don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is my son's favorite treat! I scoop out the "white" half of the mixture and drop it in the pan the add in the cocoa so I only dirty one bowl. I always sprinkle some chocolate chips on top before baking for an extra chocolate kick. BTW it never looks like enough to fill the pan but don't worry it comes out puffed up with a nice most cake texture. I have also added double the cocoa to the whole mixture and made them into chocolate muffins with chips on top again with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Just made these and they're great! I did make one change and that was to sprinkle some chocolate chunks in between the dark and light layers and then a few more on the top. Delicious! More of a cakey texture than a bar texture, which was a surprise. But very moist. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tasty and relatively easy. Whenever I have bananas that are a little past their prime, I put them in the freezer and then thaw them when I have enough to bake with. Easier than mashing bananas that aren't ready for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States