Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
While these tasted nice and all, they were most definitely not a bar! This made a moist cake, and that's it. I used a little extra banana as 3 was not enough to quite get 1 1/2 cups, so I added another which went to about 1 3/4, but that made it nice and moist. The taste was good as I said, but I was looking for something different than just cake/muffins with this. I'll stick with my muffin recipe I suppose, but that's not to say this tasted bad or anything, just not as it's claimed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obsequies

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Oh my, this is so good. It spreads thin in the pan, but bakes up perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
After reading the reviews I only made ONE change. I added 2 cups (about 4 medium bananas) instead of 1 1/2 cups. This cake was PERFECT!!! Even my husband who HATES bananas loved it & ate 3 pieces. Oh & I also topped it with the peanut butter glaze from this site off a suggestion of another reviewer. Pure heaven! Cannot go wrong with banana, chocolate, and peanut butter! Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
These are blah. The cocoa layer is not distinctive enough to differentiate between the two flavors. You would be better off making it without the cocoa and adding it adding it to the top of your favorite brownie recipe and cooking them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good and very easy...like a lite banana bread. Saw the recipe and made them the same day. 3 bananas was perfect. Use very ripe bananas. The more ripe the bananas the sweeter the bars..and more Banana flavor. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I was wanting a recipe other than banana bread or muffins to use up three very ripe bananas. I can't say these are really "bars" per se, they were more like a snacking cake. If you are looking for something like brownies, this isn't it. I like the banana and chocolate combination. I doubt that I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I make this recipe into muffins because when I made it into bars the bars were too thin. I pour them half and half like one of the pictures you see in the recipe album. They're very delicious. My girlfriend says out of all the muffins I make that these are the best. I always give these away too so we don't eat the whole batch. FIVE STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These are very good, cake like bars. For those who think the pan size is too large these bars rise and spread so stay with the larger pan. I also baked mine for 20 minutes and that was perfect. I made one change with the ingredients, I used 3/4 cups sugar instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very easy and delicious too! My daughter suggested adding oatmeal .... I think we will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
so good! like some others have said, don't change a thing. these are perfect the way they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States