Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were very good. Moist. Flavorful. Not too sweet. The only change for me was adding an extra banana. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
09/05/10 I have made these bars numerous times since my initial review a year and a half ago and when I wrote the review I had made them several times. Going over some of the reviews since my initial comments, I wanted to state that I also was not crazy about these bars when I first made them. I started using Ghiradelli ground chocolate instead of the unsweetened cocoa powder. I think it really, really improves the taste and texture. I also add nuts (either walnuts or pecans) to the batter or sprinkled on top and pressed in. The Ghiradelli product is sweetened so it does end up sweeter than the original recipe, but didn't think it was too sweet. It is more cakey than brownie, but I think in a good way. Using the Ghiradelli makes it richer too and I'm glad I tried the recipe again. The Chocolate Icing recipe from this site is also great and I use the Ghiradelli in that, as well. 03/22/09 Great way to use ripe bananas without going to the tried and true Banana Bread. I always like a marbled cake or cookie and this turned out great. I did find a recipe on Allrecipes called Chocolate Icing that I revised somewhat to frost the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Simply Divine! I, too, like some other reviewers, added choc. chips to the banana batter. They were so yummy! My 4 year old son ate 10 in 2 days! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
very moist and tasty, not very chocolate-y but a nice change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Delicious cake. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8X8 for 25 min. I also used dutch processed cocoa that I mixed with a little bit of hot water to help it mix easier and to enhance the flavor. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Really great recipe! I added choc chips to the light side as per suggestion, used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon in the mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Made the Cocoa Banana Bars without making any changes to the posted recipe. They are delicious. I may add a little more cocoa next time, but that is because I am a chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RONNIE102369
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Heavenly! A perfect blending of chocolate and banana. I agree about not changing a recipe, but I didn't have the exact ingredients needed; so I did have to improvise. I only had Hershey's Special Dark cocoa, so I added 1/4 cup sugar to my dark cocoa and batter. My 13 x 9 pan was in the dishwasher, so I made cupcakes instead and they baked for 25 minutes. The only reason they lasted 5 hours is because we weren't home to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNIE102369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were a hit, I would make them again, but with chocolate chips in the light batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States