Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
good flavor, but very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frainfam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
YUMMMM! When I was putting it into the pan I wasn't sure it was going to turn out since it was really thick...but it was perfect...we ate half the pan shortly after it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saintcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Slightly more crumbly than desired. Very cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These were more cake-like than anything. They tasted good but they're not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
A bit too sweet, and definitely should be called cake instead of bars. Ok, but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
It tastes great, but it's nothing fantastic. Next time I make this, however, I will be making it as a cake with chocolate icing instead of just squares. I have a great banana cake recipe I used at my son's birthday, and next to that, this does not seem that great. Nothing I would change, though, so still an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Awesome! Very cake like. If it lasts overnight the flavor is better. Will definately make again!!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dklove69

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Yum! The banana and the butter really stand out -- and the chocolate just makes it perfect. I did some minor changes: used 1/2 cp of wheat graham flour in lieu of all white and used 2/3 of brown sugar instead of the cup of all-white. Following another reviewer, I put the banana batter in the pan first, then mixed in the cocoa and added 1/4 cp of mini chips. I plan on wrapping the squares and freezing them to add to the kids lunchboxes (If we don't eat it all first!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Just the perfect breakfast, snack and dessert! I really love how the banana flavour isn't hidden, it really stands out. I used whole wheat flour and margarine instead for chewier, healthy bite. I also used 3 large mashed bananas, which turned out great, but I just had to leave it in the oven longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0ver0bsessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I added two handfuls of chocolate chips, and I liked the contrast. The flavor was good, but I would like this to be more dense like a brownie. Be careful though ... these are light enough that they're addictive! Good for using up a few bananas that were going bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States