Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cherrychip
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I make these all the time for Potluck...the only bad thing about them is keeping DH from devouring them all before-hand! I usually put the chocolate layer on top so I only have to use one bowl. I also sometimes add walnuts and/or chocolate chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrychip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe! Don't change anything! Too many people add and/or change recipes - this is great as shown!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Wow!!! This really is "the Best!" I followed the recipe with amazing results. The only minor problem I had was that the batter was slightly dry. I used two large bananas and I didn't really measure it out to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I would add 4 bananas to make it more moist. I had to add some milk to the cocoa mixture to thin it out, but otherwise it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! I do agree with the others about not changing a thing. Also, I noticed that 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas is about 4-5 bananas. Mine were medium size. Please make sure you measure otherwise the bars will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I make this recipe into muffins because when I made it into bars the bars were too thin. I pour them half and half like one of the pictures you see in the recipe album. They're very delicious. My girlfriend says out of all the muffins I make that these are the best. I always give these away too so we don't eat the whole batch. FIVE STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This recipe makes a delicious chocolate flavored banana cake. If you are expecting a bar cookie, or chewy brownie type..this recipe won't cut it. That being said, these are very good. I was a little worried about dryness as mentioned by several others so I used almost a full 2 cups of banana...perfect...very moist and the banana flavor comes through nicely. I though they could use a little something on the top. I made a peanut butter glaze (from this site) as suggested by another reviewer and just drizzled that over the top. With that addition, this recipe was 5 stars! Perhaps just a sifting of confectioner's sugar would be enough, but how can one go wrong with banana, chocolate and peanut butter all in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are excellent! I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a pie pan. The only other changes I made were substituting rum flavor for the vanilla (out of vanilla) and adding a bit extra banana. The bananas I mashed came out to 1/4 cup more than called for, but I threw it all in anyway. It came out very moist and flavorful! Definitely a keeper recipe. The best part was that I already had the ingredients. What a great way to use those extra bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were a hit, I would make them again, but with chocolate chips in the light batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I asked my Husband if he liked it, he said, "give this to noone and make more", I think that is a YES! The only thing I did different is use a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adgtiger
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am so glad to see others saying review the recipe as written...if you want to change it until it is hardly recognizable then submit a new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States