Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great recipe, however, I expected the chocolate batter to be chocolatier. I think next time I will add chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Moist and wonderful. I followed the advice of another cook and baked it in a muffin tin for 25 min. Came out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This recipe should be called a cake rather than a bar. It is very tasty. I ended up adding a tiny splash of milk to the batter at the end and it turned out excellent. My husband ate half of it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Very good recipe! I doubled it since I had so many bananas and it just took a little longer to bake because I had more batter. It's a good alternative to the banana bread I usually make with over-ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are excellent! I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a pie pan. The only other changes I made were substituting rum flavor for the vanilla (out of vanilla) and adding a bit extra banana. The bananas I mashed came out to 1/4 cup more than called for, but I threw it all in anyway. It came out very moist and flavorful! Definitely a keeper recipe. The best part was that I already had the ingredients. What a great way to use those extra bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
After reading the reviews I knew to expect a cake-like dessert and not the bars you'd expect from the title. I was cool with that. It was good, but not phenomenal. I did substitute splenda for the sugar (diabetic husband), otherwise I followed the recipe as written. The cake was nice and moist and the banana part was very good. The chocolate part was just ok. It tasted best warmed up with chocolate syrup drizzled over it. Again, it's not a bad dessert at all - I happily ate it over the course of a couple days along with everyone else in the house. It's just not something I can see myself going out of my way to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Yum! I didn't want to use butter, so I used 1 cup of apple sauce instead. It worked just fine. Next time, I might use a little less sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Followed recipe as written except made into cupcakes. Delicious, moist, chocolate-banana flavor. Will not change a thing and will make these again very soon. We dipped the cupcakes in "Pro Ganache" and then drizzled with "Peanut Butter Glaze" both from this site. Everyone, from toddlers to grandparents loved these. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
These were pretty good. I thought they would be more like a brownie but they were more cakelike. The chocolate batter was hard to spread. I probably won't make these again because I would just make my banana cake recipe which is easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Aw, I was sort of disappointed since I was expecting more of a "bar" or brownie-like texture. It turned out more like a cake. The flavor was pretty good, though I would have liked more of a chocolate flavor. Next time what I think I will do is add another banana, more cocoa, another egg, and less baking soda and powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States