Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by delicious&devine
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Yum! Yum! Decided to try these since I needed a break from my banana bread recipe. Followed the recipe but added some chocolate chips to the plain batter. Filled up 10 medium sized cupcake holes and baked for 25 minutes. I used three ripe bananas. Would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I swapped applesauce for half the butter, used white whole wheat flour for the flour, made them as cupcakes, and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Excellent! Easy to make. A very nice change from banana bread (which I make all the time when I have 3 very ripe bananas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was so good!! I ended up using about four bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made a 1/2 recipe of these, but used the whole egg. I also used whole wheat flour (1 cup instead of 3/4 c) and added 1/3 c applesauce and only used 1/2 the butter. We enjoyed them. I think next time I'll add some chocolate chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I am so glad to see others saying review the recipe as written...if you want to change it until it is hardly recognizable then submit a new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
so yummy! I like many others was looking for something other than banana bread to use up my bananas. I did what another reviewer did, added the plain batter to the pan first(then threw on some choc chips) and then put the coco batter on top. I had 3 very ripe banans and baked it for 25 min. I couldnt wait for them to cool, I was cutting them when they were still warm. I might sprinkle some powder sugar on them. This will be my go to recipe to use up bananas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made these exactly as instructed and took them to a potluck. They were a hit-everyone was raving and i came home with an empty pan! The swirl/marble design instructions didn't work for me at all though. it would have looked much better spooning the white batter onto the top in circles and then drawing a knife though the circles onto of the chocolate batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarpiper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Amazing. I always have too many bananas and was getting sick of making banana bread all the time. This was quicker and tastier. I even thought I had screwed these up by overmixing the two batters together, but they still turned out delicious. Just baked them until a toothpick came out clean. After they cooled completely I put half in the freezer to prevent me from inhaling them all over a few days. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! These taste great and are simple to make! I followed the recipe exactly and think it's simply wonderful! The bars are easy to cut, which is a bonus. I drizzled melted chocolate over the top to make them look a bit fancier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States