Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is so good, it makes all the other banana breads look bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Yummy! Used 5 bananas and added mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Delicious! I didn't change a thing and they came out perfect! So moist and banana-y, mmm! :9 Thanks for the recipe, Lisa! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by User

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Love me some banana and chocolate! Perfect little cupcakes (or in my dad's case, ginormous muffins). Flavor wise they were pretty good. For some reason mine wasn't as moist as other reviewers said, I probably should take out faster because they were in cupcake cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Really really good. I made it as described and it wasn't enough batter to get much of a uniformly marbleized look but it did puff up and really fill the 9x13 pan. I used 4 very ripe bananas, needing to use them up, and I may have used a little extra cocoa. The flavors are definitely strong. I wasn't sure about the amount of sugar because my bananas were so ripe, but the unsweetened cocoa really balances it out. However, I think the recipe is only going to hit 5 stars (for me) with the addition of some nuts or chocolate chips, to change up the texture in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
An excellent and tasty way to use extra bananas, resembling a sort-of banana chocolate brownie. The only change I make is taking the sugar down to 2/3 cups because ripened bananas are pretty sweet. It is essential to measure the amount of mashed bananas - don't guess or they'll be dry. This recipe has made it into my dessert/snack rotation. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Chocolate and banana are always a good combination, and the fact that this isn't very high cal makes it even better. Not too rich or sweet, but very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjccphillips
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Instead of cocoa I used mini chocolate chips. This was a BIG HIT. I also added just about a 1/2 tbs of maple syrup & used whole wheat flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjccphillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macdill Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Kids say it's a keeper and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe is absolutely perfect for those weeks where you buy too many bananas. You'll very likely have all ingredients on hand, it's incredibly simple to make, and cleans up easily. My batter turned out to be the right consistency using the exact recipe. You can also make the marbling as fussy as you like! I served it on dessert plates decorated with chocolate syrup and raspberries and slices of frozen banana. A delicious dessert or snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States