Cocoa Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made with half brown half white sugar, double acting baking powder instead of regular , and didn't add the cocoa powder and they turned out just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I too, thought it looked thin in a 9x13 pan, but it came out perfectly. Very glad I didn't try a smaller pan. I did alter the recipe a bit because I am such a chocoholic. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips before dividing the batter to add the cocoa. I also topped the cake with confectioners sugar after it cooled. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I added 3T mayo to the cocoa portion, decreased the sugar to 2/3 C, added chocolate chips to the top portion, and sprinkled generously with cinnamon/sugar mixture before baking (I add this step to every banana bread recipe I try....it is delicious). These are a great alternative to banana bread. This recipe is also listed on Taste of Home's website under Black Bottom Banana Bars and a reviewer mentioned the 3T of mayo...definitely ups the moisture. I also baked it in an 11 x 7 pan for approx 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
No modifications the receipe. Turned out great, very moist. More cake like as other reviewers said, but I am not complaining :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Definitely more like a cake than a cookie bar, but still very good. Only minor changes I made were 1/2 whole wheat and half white flour, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, I used 1/3 cup of cocoa since some complaints were about the chocolate flavor not being strong enough and I mixed in 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips. But what really makes it is adding a peanut butter glaze. It puts it over the top and its so easy to do. Peanut butter, powdered sugar and water and blend til smooth. There is a recipe on this site for the exact measurements. This is a fun way to use those over ripe bananas! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I admit, I didn't measure the bananas - I just used 5 medium/large bananas, but it came out perfect and moist. I did add chocolate chips to the banana batter, and I think that was just what I needed since I love chocolate, and without them it didn't have much chocolate flavor. All in all a great recipe, and a wonderful use for ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I didn't go by all of the recipe directions. I tried to use less dishes and poured the plain banana batter in first and add the cocoa batter after, which worked okay and tastes great, but I wish I had put the cocoa batter in first as it is a LOT thicker and would be easier to spread the plain batter on top of it... and it's not thin enough to drizzle. I am thinking of adding oatmeal to the recipe next time between the cocoa layer and plain layer... I will add in a 2nd review when I try that!!! Otherwise, I say try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Nice, moist, bread and a good way to use up spotty bananas. I made exactly as written; only I baked in mini muffin pans rather than a cake pan. I got 60 minis out of this recipe. I baked for about 12 minutes. Thanks Lisa for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I had trouble swirling the batter, but other than that the recipe was great. Everyone loved the moist, light texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Subbed caramel extract for vanilla to liven the flavor up, but these were still somewhat bland (like a cake without icing). Batter was thick & thus didn't "marbleize" very easily....was hoping the appearance would make up for the lack of flavor. Would recommend drizzling with caramel sauce or adding chocolate chips to chocolate layer. Probably better to get rid of your bananas by making muffins or bread... UPDATE: Made a caramel sauce & drizzled over top. This modification added a touch of sweetness/flavor & visual interest that made it worthy of 4 stars (in my humble opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States