Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jenna A
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
this was sooo good. didn't last very long in my house. kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I got mixed reviews on this cake...I thought it was only okay, while others though it was divine. You either love it or are just okay with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This cake is great. I have been making it since the '70's. It was originally on the back of a Hawaiian sugar box. Don't overcook it and it turns out best if you actually make it in a spring form pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
A very moist cake, for certain. It wasn't quite as chocolately as I had hoped. I would increase the chocolate chips and probably the cocoa, too. It was tasty, but I felt the result wasn't worth the effort of peeling, coring and grating the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Just ok. Not a lot of apple taste and too much cinnamon. I had to put a carmel glaze on top to add flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
First off, I changed a few things about this recipe which may be why I didn't think it was a 5-star recipe...I am a self proclaimed recipe changer..drives my hubby crazy! I chopped the apples instead of shredding and I used 3 cups total. I substituted homemade applesauce for the butter to make it healthier and because I had a lot! I also used 4 tablespoons cocoa powder. I really enjoyed it, my hubby did not like the apple-chocolate combo. Very moist even without the butter. Maybe next time I will shred the apples and see if it changes the result any. I will try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My husband loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Very delicious! If you want to really appreciate the apple, chop it instead of shredding it. I also substitued applesauce for the butter. Very, very moist and way fewer fat grams. We eat it up before I can even think about putting icing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was a favorite recipe of my Grandmothers. We make it every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas in honor of her. We love this cake, it is moist and simple. Kids will devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This has to be my alltime favourite cake off this site! I LOVE it! Its so simple to make and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States