Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My mother has made this cake for years at Christmas time. You can't find a richer, moist cake in the WORLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Delicious, easy and very moist (because of the apples). Has no oil either like many of these kinds of recipes (the apples replace it) so you don't get the added fat and calories. To help clarify...2 cups of apples is about 3-4 apples depending on size. I dusted mine with confectioners sugar for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I knew I should not have made it, as I can't stop at just one piece. It is wonderful and requires no icing or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I didn't expect that this recipe would turn out so surprisingly moist and delicious! very simple and plain, quite good for breakfast. I did add candied cherry, my son raves about it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
i thought the flavor of butter overwhelmed the bread ... but my boyfriend (a butter fiend) loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
PERFECT! This cake is wonderful! I can hardly wait to make for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
My mother makes this cake every year for Christmas morning. It's fantastic! She does not think it works well in a bundt pan; I haven't tried it in anything but a loose-bottom tube pan. Would love to hear bundt success stories, as I'd love to make the cake in my Cathedral bundt pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Went apple-picking, so had many apples to use up. This cake was good...not amazing, but good. Some changes based on other reviews: Used both brown and white sugars (1/2 of each), omitted the allspice and doubled up the cinnamon, used 1 cup milk chocolate chips, baked in a 9X13 pan at 350 for 45 minutes. I did think that the apple taste was not as pronounced as I might have preferred. Very moist. Will try in bundt cake shape next time. Side note: I found apples to be not the easiest things to grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This has to be my alltime favourite cake off this site! I LOVE it! Its so simple to make and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was a favorite recipe of my Grandmothers. We make it every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas in honor of her. We love this cake, it is moist and simple. Kids will devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States