Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a family favourite! My husband and the kids think it's fantastic. It's super moist, so it tends to fall apart, but we don't care. No icing required - in fact it's really too much. Everyone who has tried it thinks it's great! Made as is, no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I really like this recipe, although I used a little less sugar, butter and flour and replaced chocolate chips with red currant berries. It came out very delicious and moist. My whole family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasialibeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this cake on Saturday to bring to a casual dinner party. It fell apart trying to get it out of the bundt pan for me - just like another reviewer. It was probably not cool enough but even so, I'll use a tube pan or springform next time. It was a Big Hit with the other couple and my husband. Very moist and the chocolate/apple taste was delicious. I followed the recipe to the letter. Will definitelykeep this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have made this cake twice now and both times I loved it! The taste changes depending on the type/sweetness of the apples. I used a simple confectioners glaze on the first one and I used shredded coconut on the second. I think that the cake was better without the coconut- it is perfect just as it is! This will absolutely be a holiday tradition in my house, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardiner, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was delicious! Very VERY moist and flavorful..I added a little extra cocoa and skipped the chocolate chips. Went quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Incredibly moist and delicious. Kids don't even know they're eating fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I like apple cake. I like chocolate cake. I'm not too crazy about the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It tastes good but it was a disaster when I tried to get it out of the bundt pan. Luckily I wasn't bringing this cake to anyone because it split in half and the top part remained in the pan. I felt so discouraged because I've never had issues getting cakes out before. And I'm still racking my brain if I did something wrong. But my mom saw it and quickly fixed it. It doesn't look as bad now. But she found it too chocolately (she doesn't care for chocolate) and I love it because of the chocolate chips. Others are eating it and haven't said anything. It is a great way to get rid of all the apples I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I love this recipie. like most people i chnaged it. i wantd to make muffins with this so i added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and cooked them at 350 for about 30 minutes and they came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States