Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Flavor was a little rich for me, everyone else thought it was yummy. Mine actually fell in the middle, so I scooped it up and mushed it into small serving cups. Sprinkled powder sugar and no one new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Didn't care for it. Chocolate and apples didn't go together very well. The family dissapproved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My boyfriend and I made this as an experiment and it was fantastic. I added extra cocoa and a few extra chocolate chips. We put it in two loaf pans and baked it at 350F for close to an hour until a toothpick came out clean. Sorry I don't know the specific time, just keep an eye on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I've made this cake for almost 20 years, it's great. I double the chocolate and the spices, grate my apples finely. It cooks well in a standard pan and any fine fudge frosting makes it absolutely decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
It was very good and moist. I was wondering if the spices would go well with the cocoa and apple combo, but they just gave it a deeper, richer flavour. The only change I made was to chop the apples instead of grating them, because we prefer a harder texture. Thank you, we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
My grandmother has made this cocoa apple cake for years and years now and it's delicious! She got her recipe off the back of a bag a sugar. The only difference is that her recipe calls for 2 and 1/2 c flour and she finely dices the apple instead of grating it. It's wonderful and will always remind me of her. For some reason, nobody else in the family can make it quite as good as she can -must be that grandmotherly touch! We also freeze it and sometimes just cut a slice off straight from the freezer and eat it ... mmmmmm... this recipe is worth trying -it'll always be one of my treasures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Any doubt this is the best cake? I won third place at the county fair with this cake on my very first try back in 1987...and first the next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was Ok. I followed the recipe and thought it was a little bland. I used jonathan apples and it might have been better with granny smith. I would also add more chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This cake was ok. The taste was very good and it was very moist, but it didn't seem to hold together very well. I pretty much ended up with a plate of crumbs. Good tasting crumbs, but still crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was very moist and very good. I used an egg substitute and rice milk to make the recipe vegan. It still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States