Cocoa Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Recipe was amazing...so moist and hearty. I made a few small changes - 1 c. of cubed apples 1 c. shredded; doubled spices as suggested; added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts in with choc chips and cooked in a 9x13 pan. After one bite Hubby said he wanted to take cake to work to show the guys how great a baker his wife was! He has never said that in 8 yrs so thank you lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this cake, my Nana used to make this for our family at Christmas. I think she used to put raisins into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felecia1331
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
So good and moist, but in my opinion it could use some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia1331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Really good cake! I replaced 3/4 of the butter with yogurt, which made it really moist and a little bit healthier. My family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
very moist , perfect recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was amazing. I made a chocolate icing flavored with almond extract to ice cake with while warm and it was a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My mother used to make this cake for me. Always..she died 4 years ago and I haven't had it since. I found this and am ready to make it..I can't wait to try it and remember again the great person that my mother was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My daughter made this..it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
very moist with wonderful flavor. Next time I might try with chopped nuts and raisins in place of the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Lovely moist cake, took all of the 70 mins and perhaps a little longer in a loaf tin but well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States