Coco-Cola Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
MARSHMALLOW ISSUES: For those of you that are having trouble with the "marshmallow" part of the recipe, it is written right. Instead of offering revised recipes, you should try it how it's written first. The marshmallows float to the top melting over the chocolate cake giving it a chewy brownie like crust. If you're fishing the marshmallows out or melting them in the recipe, you're missing the best part of this cake. Make it like the recipe says and you'll be calling it "crack cocaine cake" like I do. It's addicting. My absolute favorite chocolate cake ever. Thank you sassy!!! Amended to add - I just made the cake again today for my husand's birthday as it is his favorite. I added an extra cup of marshallows too. Chewy delicious crust!! So so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My friend asked for this cake for her birthday and I decided to give it a try first and I am so glad I did! I read the other reviews and saw where people didn't think the cake had enough chocolate,so I used 5 tablespoons of cocoa with the cake and 3 tablespoons in the icing. It was really GOOD! I think this brought it to the level of chocolate I needed for my craving. Can't wait to make it again this weekend for my friends birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Yum! I am 14 years old and this was the first cake I've ever made from scratch by myself. I made it for my little brother's birthday and it was delicious. However, the icing was a little too sweet. The consistency was okay, though. I'd recommend halving the amount of confectioner's sugar and maybe adding in some more cocoa. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
This is another wonderful cake. I don't use the marshmallows. It's easy to make but takes time. You also need to watch your frosting. Remember to stir, stir, stir
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
ingredients were right but steps/instructions werent in right place. it is important that marshmallows gets to be added to bowl right after the cocoa-coke mixture so it has chance to melt (incorporate with the batter) before eggs and buttermilk is added. Baking soda should be added to the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
AWESOME recipe!! Very moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This cake is to die for!!! The ingredients sound a little unusual mixed together but it is wonderful. Great recipe. thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
OUTSTANDING! I absolutely agree with texasredtop - the marshmallows are not an issue if you make it according to the recipe! I served the cake warm with vanilla home-style ice cream; it is beyond delicious. Please make the recipe as written, adding only more cocoa according to your chocolate preferences. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this to make to a Xmas gathering, so we didn't get to eat it warm but it was still really good. I took the leftovers home and microwaved a piece for 30 seconds...OMG it was amazing! I saw a lot of ppl complained about the marshmallows clumping up in the middle so I melted them in the chocolate mixture before I poured it over the flour and sugar. It worked perfectly. Hope this helps someone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Recipe as is is three stars. I followed the recipe closely, only adding three tablespoons extra to the cake batter and and one extra to the frosting. I tried the marshmallows, but they floated to the top and drifted to the side of the pan. I ended up fishing them out before sticking the cake in the oven. (And if you think that was fun, you must be crazy.) The instructions for the frosting didn't follow the instructions. Good thing I knew to add four tablespoons of softened butter to the frosting, otherwise it wouldn't have turned out well. I also added TEN tablespoons of cola to the frosting to make it a spreadable consistancy. It almost looks like melted milk chocolate. It wasn't difficult for me to make, but I'm hoping that what I learned from making this cake that it will help someone else. This is a really sweet cake. Almost cavity-enducing. The cake itself is passable but it's the frosting that makes it good. I suggest you add the extra chocolate powder. You'll thank me. EDITED TO ADD: Everyone ate one small piece. After that, noone would touch it. Too much for this household. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States