Coco-Cola Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
We loved this! I didn't get what purpose the marshmallows served...maybe next time I'll try it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this to make to a Xmas gathering, so we didn't get to eat it warm but it was still really good. I took the leftovers home and microwaved a piece for 30 seconds...OMG it was amazing! I saw a lot of ppl complained about the marshmallows clumping up in the middle so I melted them in the chocolate mixture before I poured it over the flour and sugar. It worked perfectly. Hope this helps someone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made my cake without the marshmallows.. great cover overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This cake has been made in my family for decades. We love it and it's always a hit wherever we take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was an odd recipe....especially the marshmellows which did not melt and made a puddle of goo on top. Why doesn't it just say to add them with the boiling coke and butter mixture. I just scraped them off when I took it out of the oven. After the other comments I thought I would try what one reviewer said and cook it a bit longer and it seemed to work. No issues getting it out of the pan and everyone loved it. I did add another 2 TB butter softened and another 2 TB of cocoa and about another cup of powdered sugar for the icing. Everyone loved it. Very rich and sweet. I am not sure I would make it again unless like this time the person I make it for loved Coke and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My MIL had given me her recipe for Coco-Cola cake and I lost the recipe card. I think this is the exact recipe and my girls always want coco-cola cake as their bday cake. My daughter has celiac disease so I made it with gluten free flour and everyone loved it. My in-laws were here when I made it and they thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
ingredients were right but steps/instructions werent in right place. it is important that marshmallows gets to be added to bowl right after the cocoa-coke mixture so it has chance to melt (incorporate with the batter) before eggs and buttermilk is added. Baking soda should be added to the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I'd never had cola cake before and decided to try the recipe on a whim. I guess my expectations were very far off; I figured that the small amount of cocoa involved would boost the cola flavor and the cake would taste like... well, cola. I was very, very wrong. The combination of cocoa and cola resulted in a flavor purgatory - this cake isn't chocolatey enough to be a real chocolate cake but isn't cola-ish enough to really be a cola cake. This cake's ONLY redeming attribute was its texture (most, springy, good crumb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This cake is so good! The only thing I would recommend doing something different with is the frosting. We didn't use any pecans and the frosting was super thin. So, I added 1/4 flour, I would have added more confectioners sugar, but didn't have any more. It thickened it a little and I thought it turned out perfect! Oh, I am also a super chocolate freak! I seen on here where it said it wasn't as 'chocolate-y' as some would like. I made sure my tablespoons of cocoa were HEAPING tablespoons. The best part about it is, it is so rich and so good you can only eat a small piece at a time, which makes it a perfect dish to take for holidays, plenty to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Recipe as is is three stars. I followed the recipe closely, only adding three tablespoons extra to the cake batter and and one extra to the frosting. I tried the marshmallows, but they floated to the top and drifted to the side of the pan. I ended up fishing them out before sticking the cake in the oven. (And if you think that was fun, you must be crazy.) The instructions for the frosting didn't follow the instructions. Good thing I knew to add four tablespoons of softened butter to the frosting, otherwise it wouldn't have turned out well. I also added TEN tablespoons of cola to the frosting to make it a spreadable consistancy. It almost looks like melted milk chocolate. It wasn't difficult for me to make, but I'm hoping that what I learned from making this cake that it will help someone else. This is a really sweet cake. Almost cavity-enducing. The cake itself is passable but it's the frosting that makes it good. I suggest you add the extra chocolate powder. You'll thank me. EDITED TO ADD: Everyone ate one small piece. After that, noone would touch it. Too much for this household. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States