Coco-Cola Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My MIL had given me her recipe for Coco-Cola cake and I lost the recipe card. I think this is the exact recipe and my girls always want coco-cola cake as their bday cake. My daughter has celiac disease so I made it with gluten free flour and everyone loved it. My in-laws were here when I made it and they thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
ingredients were right but steps/instructions werent in right place. it is important that marshmallows gets to be added to bowl right after the cocoa-coke mixture so it has chance to melt (incorporate with the batter) before eggs and buttermilk is added. Baking soda should be added to the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I'd never had cola cake before and decided to try the recipe on a whim. I guess my expectations were very far off; I figured that the small amount of cocoa involved would boost the cola flavor and the cake would taste like... well, cola. I was very, very wrong. The combination of cocoa and cola resulted in a flavor purgatory - this cake isn't chocolatey enough to be a real chocolate cake but isn't cola-ish enough to really be a cola cake. This cake's ONLY redeming attribute was its texture (most, springy, good crumb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This cake is so good! The only thing I would recommend doing something different with is the frosting. We didn't use any pecans and the frosting was super thin. So, I added 1/4 flour, I would have added more confectioners sugar, but didn't have any more. It thickened it a little and I thought it turned out perfect! Oh, I am also a super chocolate freak! I seen on here where it said it wasn't as 'chocolate-y' as some would like. I made sure my tablespoons of cocoa were HEAPING tablespoons. The best part about it is, it is so rich and so good you can only eat a small piece at a time, which makes it a perfect dish to take for holidays, plenty to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Recipe as is is three stars. I followed the recipe closely, only adding three tablespoons extra to the cake batter and and one extra to the frosting. I tried the marshmallows, but they floated to the top and drifted to the side of the pan. I ended up fishing them out before sticking the cake in the oven. (And if you think that was fun, you must be crazy.) The instructions for the frosting didn't follow the instructions. Good thing I knew to add four tablespoons of softened butter to the frosting, otherwise it wouldn't have turned out well. I also added TEN tablespoons of cola to the frosting to make it a spreadable consistancy. It almost looks like melted milk chocolate. It wasn't difficult for me to make, but I'm hoping that what I learned from making this cake that it will help someone else. This is a really sweet cake. Almost cavity-enducing. The cake itself is passable but it's the frosting that makes it good. I suggest you add the extra chocolate powder. You'll thank me. EDITED TO ADD: Everyone ate one small piece. After that, noone would touch it. Too much for this household. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My friend asked for this cake for her birthday and I decided to give it a try first and I am so glad I did! I read the other reviews and saw where people didn't think the cake had enough chocolate,so I used 5 tablespoons of cocoa with the cake and 3 tablespoons in the icing. It was really GOOD! I think this brought it to the level of chocolate I needed for my craving. Can't wait to make it again this weekend for my friends birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
How did this cake EVER get a five star rating. I did not care for this recipe! What is going on with the frosting recipe? Made as directed, it had the texture of playdough. What a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
What did I do wrong? I got a weird brownie thing and all the marshmallows pooled on top to form a weird goo. I was hoping for something like the Coke Cake that Cracker Barrel used to have, but I didn't get this too work. Not bad, but I won't make again. It was probably my mistake, but I can't see what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Not as choc. as I wanted it to be but this was really good. I made it to take camping and they ate it every chance they had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Delicious! Not very chocolatey, but still sweet and tasty. An excellent use for the last bit of flat pop in a 2 liter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States