Coco-Cola Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is a childhood favorite and didn't disappoint. Of course, you don't taste cola, just chocolate. My only change was to use 3 T cocoa in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
OUTSTANDING! I absolutely agree with texasredtop - the marshmallows are not an issue if you make it according to the recipe! I served the cake warm with vanilla home-style ice cream; it is beyond delicious. Please make the recipe as written, adding only more cocoa according to your chocolate preferences. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this for my friends birthday but in cupcake form. She LOVED it!!!! My husband thought this sounded crazy and I had to beg him to try......he has requested for his birthday!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good cake but rich. I used the cake on this site instead of looking up my old recipe. Used heaping tablespoons of cocoa in both the cake and frosting and added an extra tablespoon of coke to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Our family liked the cake especially warmed up for about 30 seconds. Serving with Vanilla Bean ice cream even better. It was somewhat different from what I was expecting. I have had this at Cracker Barrel and it had more chocolate flavor. Hence, the four stars. I would add melted chocolate to the frosting in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe Da

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this for a friend's birthday...great with blue bell vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
MARSHMALLOW ISSUES: For those of you that are having trouble with the "marshmallow" part of the recipe, it is written right. Instead of offering revised recipes, you should try it how it's written first. The marshmallows float to the top melting over the chocolate cake giving it a chewy brownie like crust. If you're fishing the marshmallows out or melting them in the recipe, you're missing the best part of this cake. Make it like the recipe says and you'll be calling it "crack cocaine cake" like I do. It's addicting. My absolute favorite chocolate cake ever. Thank you sassy!!! Amended to add - I just made the cake again today for my husand's birthday as it is his favorite. I added an extra cup of marshallows too. Chewy delicious crust!! So so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
We loved this! I didn't get what purpose the marshmallows served...maybe next time I'll try it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this to make to a Xmas gathering, so we didn't get to eat it warm but it was still really good. I took the leftovers home and microwaved a piece for 30 seconds...OMG it was amazing! I saw a lot of ppl complained about the marshmallows clumping up in the middle so I melted them in the chocolate mixture before I poured it over the flour and sugar. It worked perfectly. Hope this helps someone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made my cake without the marshmallows.. great cover overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States