Coco-Cola Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Definitely moist, but way too sweet for us. The cake did come out perfectly, we just don't like things this overly sweet. My husband said he felt a diabetic coma coming on after he ate a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I just made this cake and it turned out beautiful, but I omitted the sweet icing and it still was delicious!!! This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashan Hardnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This cake is delicious. Have been making it for years and always get rave reviews. People can't quit eating it until the pan is empty!! The cake batter part of the recipe is to be mixed completely by hand with a wooden spoon in a large bowl. Follow the recipe steps exactly - the marshmallows should rise to the top and not be melted or incorporated into the batter. I use 2 cups of marshmallows folding them in just before pouring the mixture into the pan to bake. I also reduce the sugar in the cake to 1-3/4 Cup and you don't know the difference but either way is awesome. I also add a pinch of salt to the cake and the icing which by the way is to die for!! Try it - take it to any event - always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I couldn't find my old recipe so I tried this one. I think the ingredients are similar except it didn't have marshmallows or have you boil anything. This turned out more moist than I remember. I cut the sugar back to 1-1/2 C and it was still plenty sweet enough. The frosting turned out to be more like a glaze. This cake is addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! Be careful to watch your butter, coca, and cola on the stove as it can scorch easily if not watched. Also, this made a HUGE amount of extra icing for my cake, next time I might reduce the confectioners sugar to 2 cups instead of 4. Otherwise a great recipe I'll be using from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandie Lowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blountsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake is absolutely scrumptious!! I followed the recipe as stated and my family cleaned the pan in one setting!!! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Going to make today. Store only had lowfat buttermilk. Could that be used in this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Sachitano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Delicious!! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup vegetable oil and left out the marshmallow(didn't have any). It made a beautifully moist chocolate cake with a hint of caramel. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Very good. My husband is finishing a piece of the cake right now; his happy face matches his happy plate. :-) Love the flavor and tenderness the buttermilk gives it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States