Cocktel de Camaron Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I was glad to see this recipe with orange drink, however, I suggest you use Jarritos Orange Drink to make it authentic. The secret is: Don't just use the combination of Orange Drink and Ketchup in the recipe...start with the Orange Drink and slowly add Ketchup until the mixture doesn't taste like Orange Drink or Ketchup. Different Orange Drink and Ketchup products have different tastes and you could end up with it tasting too much like either one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
When I first read that this recipe called for orange soda, I thought it was so weird, but I happened to have some on hand, so I thought why not? Well, as soon as I tried it, I was immediately taken to my childhood visits to my grandparents house in Tijuana Mexico, and eating shrimp cocktails on the corner seafood stand! This is what I remember a shrimp cocktail tasting like. So great1 Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was really good and tasted so fresh! I added some thinly sliced red onion and a little bit of lime juice. I actually made this the night before I needed it omitting the avocado and then chopping it and mixing it in right before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is better than any other recipes I've found for this. It is sweet because of the orange soda but really good. It has no kick unless you add hot sauce and/or peppers but I don't like spicy hot because it burns my tongue. I used less cilantro and I added diced tomatoe and cucumber. I served this to my sister and mother who had never had it before. They thought it was great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
very authentic; even down to the saltines!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was pretty good. Prepared exactly as written. Good enough to serve to guests, which I will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Intrigued by the orange pop and ketchup mixture I had to try this recipe. I don't know if "bunches" of cilantro are a different size elsewhere, but I used under half a bunch and it was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is better than what I eat at the Mexican Restaurant here! So tasty! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is delicious and was loved by all both times that i served it. The 2nd time I used 1/3 C. ketchup, 1/3 C. chili sauce, and 1/3 C. orange soda for the sauce and added a little finely chopped onion and a couple extra shrimp - EVEN BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Fantastic! I made this last night, adding the jalapenos as suggested. This was a great summer side dish, nice and light and with a kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States