Cocktail Wieners II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I have several variations I make on this recipe; I heat up the ingredients in a microwaveable bowl 1st, then switch it to the crockpot to keep warm for serving. For The Grandchildren: DO NOT use cocktail sauce -- instead I add to taste a couple tablespoons of prepared yellow mustard, & a standard BBQ sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Made this for a baby shower and the people gobbled them up. There were no leftovers. I made mine in my crockpot which kept the food hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
when i first made this up for our family get together this weekend. i tasted the sauce just after it "melted" together. and i thought. wow this is way to tangy. oh well i dont have time to redo it....... I AM SOOOOOOO GLAD I DIDNT!!!!!!!!! the longer this heated in the crock pot the better it got!! the tang went away. and blended together perfectly !!! was a huge hit at the party!! thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Made several appy's tonight for a party tomorrow and we ended up dumping the sauce and rinsing off the dogs. Nothing about this recipe tasted good to us so I ended up just making a standard barbeque sauce. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made these this weekend and they were a hit! The only things that I learned were that, A) the cocktail sauce had too much horseradish for our taste so I used the chili sauce like others had recommended and I liked it A LOT more, and B) that I had to heat them on the stove before putting them in the crock pot (took a long time to heat through in the slow cooker after coming straight from the fridge). Overall a success and will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
we used to have this when I was a kid. Everyone devours this. Mom always made this in a crock pot and let it simmer at least an hour or two before putting on the buffet table so the meat could really soak up the flavor of the sauce. Works great with Kielbasa as well(thats how Mom liked it best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
These were really good and loved by all who tried them. I did double the amount of sausages per another reviewer and there was still plenty of sauce. Great appetizer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Easy to make, and always welcome at the pot luck table. Meat balls work well with this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
We love these! Truly a must have party food! I usually double the amount of cocktail wieners for this amount of sauce and there are NEVER leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I made the recipe for baby shower. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. There were no leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States