Cocktail Wieners II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Definitely needs adjusting! I used 2 (16 ounce) package of smokies, 8 oz cocktail and 8 oz grape jelly, they were swimming! Once I drained some of liquid out, they were yummy! ***Also, remember to dump your sausages on a paper towel to drain all the excess juice from bag, BEFORE you add them to the jelly mixture. There is alot of excess liquid in those bags!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcqueenbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
easy and good. I put in crock pot for a few hours and turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This type of recipe is something my mom has made for years and years. She always used chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce and so do I. I also add 2 teaspoons of fresh prepared horseradish for a little bite but not overbearing and the juice of half a lemon. Just brightens the flavor a bit. Like other reviewers have said, just because you massively increase the amount of wieners you don't have to match the increase with the sauce 1 for 1. I also like to brown the wieners in a frying pan before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Everyone loved the sauce. The only change I made was using the little weenies instead of little smokies due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I tried these as a part of my spread for my husband's birthday. They were excellent. Definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Exley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for an Oktoberfest party, and everyone loved it. I think using chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce would definitely be good, as the cocktail sauce is a bit strong even with the sweetness of the grape jelly. I think it would also be good to use these wieners for pigs in a blanket, either as a marinade before cooking them, or as a dip on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
It's all about the proportion of jelly to chili sauce and 50/50 is right on! I made 8 pounds (4 lbs meatballs from sam's club, 2 lbs wieners from sam's club) of this for a party of 60 and there wasn't a single meat ball or wiener left. The only thing I added was about 4 tablespoons of cayanne, but I'm not sure it even needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Murray
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I really love these almost as much as I love the meatball version...I did use chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce and 2 packages of lil smokies...perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made these for a baby shower and they were a huge hit! I ended up with 2 jars of chili sauce, 1 jar of grape jelly, and 3 packs of wieners, so a little different than the original (sorry!), but perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is so easy and yummy. I bring it for office potlucks and there is never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States