Cocktail Wieners II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is a super easy, great cocktail weenie recipe. It doesn't look so appealing when you first glop in the jelly and sauce, but once it warms up, it mixes together nice and smooth and tastes great. This sauce is also wonderful with meatballs and served as a dip for pigs in a blanket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made these for my mom's suprise 60th birthday party. They were very easy to make and everyone really enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We REALLY liked these. I did use 2 lbs of sausages for this sauce, and I boiled it quite awhile to reduce it into a sticky true sauce instead of just a bubbling liquid. I didn't stir it often enough, so my sauce burnt to the bottom of my pan, but the flavor was still fantastic. I'll absolutely make this again, thank you! P.S. I made the meatballs recipe with the chili sauce/grape jelly and didn't like it but the cocktail sauce/grape jelly with sausages is totally wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
One of the best ,and Im very picky love it , thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These were a hit at a potluck I took them too. I put them in the crockpot to keep them warm during the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was not a hit! Usually around here if it has wienies in it it's a hit. Maybe it was the cocktail wieners, not sure yet. I have frozen the sauce and plan to try it with meatballs?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anharelva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Definitely needs adjusting! I used 2 (16 ounce) package of smokies, 8 oz cocktail and 8 oz grape jelly, they were swimming! Once I drained some of liquid out, they were yummy! ***Also, remember to dump your sausages on a paper towel to drain all the excess juice from bag, BEFORE you add them to the jelly mixture. There is alot of excess liquid in those bags!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
easy and good. I put in crock pot for a few hours and turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This type of recipe is something my mom has made for years and years. She always used chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce and so do I. I also add 2 teaspoons of fresh prepared horseradish for a little bite but not overbearing and the juice of half a lemon. Just brightens the flavor a bit. Like other reviewers have said, just because you massively increase the amount of wieners you don't have to match the increase with the sauce 1 for 1. I also like to brown the wieners in a frying pan before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Everyone loved the sauce. The only change I made was using the little weenies instead of little smokies due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States