Cocktail Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These meatballs were a hit! I used frozen meatballs. Most jellied cranberry sauce come in 16 oz cans so if you decide to use the whole can you'll need to double all the other ingredients. Typical chili sauce comes in 12oz. bottle so you'll need two bottles if you use the full can of cranberry. Hope this helps your shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1750 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have made these numerous times and am ashamed to admit I'm just now reviewing them. Wonderful addition to the regular grape jelly recipes out there with great meatballs.... Based on experience and personal preference with these cocktail meatballs I offer the following suggestions: 1.) Add one packet of lipton onion soup mix to the meatball mixture if you do not have time to mince or grate the onion. 2.) Bake meatballs over a drip pan to reduce the fat before adding to the sauce. 3.) If using frozen meatballs ENSURE you DO NOT use Italian meatballs as this upsets the balance of the meatballs and sauce (yuck)! 3.) Make the sauce the day before to let the flavors marry - I can't stress what a difference this makes! This recipe gets better the next day. 4.) The Heinz sauce in the round bottle seems to be the best chili sauce for this mixture. Reviewers: I seriously dislike people that rate a recipe based on the changes they have made to the original. I want to state that I rated this recipe on the recipe Lara submitted. The changes I suggested were based on my family's personal preference. Thanks Lara for a fabulous appetizer recipe - I always give you the credit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Fromrfjl46 I have been making these meatballs for 30 years or more in my catering business. I however use cornflakes crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I also put 1/3 cup parsley; I use 1/4 cup ketchup instead of water and 1 tsp. soy sauce. Just a tought from an old chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These were great. A huge hit with my family. The only thing I did differently was substitute 1 packet of lipton onion soup for the minced onion. It added great flavor. My nephews couldn't get enough of these meatballs. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This is a very tasty recipe for meatballs, with the cranberry sauce representing a change from the run of the mill grape jelly recipe. I used seasoned bread crumbs, which added some nice flavor to the meatballs, and then baked them on a broiler tray, which allowed the fat to run off while they were baking. One recipe is enough to fill one of the small 1 to 2 quart crockpots. I made the meatballs 2 days ahead, and refrigerated them. The day of my party, I made the sauce, put the meatballs in the crockpot, added the sauce, and put the whole crock back in the fridge. About 2 hours before the party, I put the crock back in the warmer, and plugged it in. Voila! Easy and tasty. I was so impressed with the recipe, that I made an extra batch of the meatballs, and froze them. I will use them for another party in the next couple of weeks. I'll bet you could use ground turkey for a little less fat. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Since I was serving 50+ and had several other dishes to prepare, I used storebought meatballs, and used this recipe for the sauce, cooking everything in a slowcooker. This was the biggest hit of the party, and many people asked for the recipe. It was sweet, but with a bit of a kick from the chili--unusual, but quite delicious, and it won my husband's "best he's ever had" compliment. A fantastic, but very simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I, too, served these for my New Year's Day party and they were a hit. I also used the prepared, frozen meatballs. I'll bet the Little Smokies would be great in this sauce as well. Word of warning - do NOT use the Italian meatballs! The flavors fight each other and the sauce is the loser. Thanks for the recipe, Lara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I cheated and used frozen meatballs and baked for 15 minutes while making the sauce in a sauce pan. The sauce comes out to be absolutely amazing that you wouldn't know if the meatballs where homemade or store bought. I added 1 tbsp. of worchestershire sauce and put the sauce and meatballs in a crockpot and put on low for a couple hours. It was a huge hit at the my friend's Xmas party. People where raving and asking for this recipe all night. They were the first things to be eaten up on the buffet table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This sounded so good an usual, I decided to make them as an appetizer the Even of Thanksgiving. My husband had worked late, and I knew he was sure to be hungry the moment he walked in the door. I told him that dinner would be put on hold, as we were having appetizers, and a glass of wine together. I served the meatballs with fancy toothpicks, as well as cubed cheese and crackers. He asked for more and more of the meatballs until they were entirely gone!!! As he burbed politely...he said "this one's a keeper, honey"! Needless to say, supper will wait!!! Thanks so much for sharing this terrific recipe with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were great! So great, I barely got to eat 2 of them myself - the guys just inhaled them! One thing that would make the recipe easier though, is some explanation of what is meant by "Chili Sauce". There are so many types of Chili Sauce out there - after searching, I found that Heinz makes something called "Chili Sauce". If you're like me and have never heard of this type of chili sauce, it's basically a vinegar-y, very mildly spiced-up version of ketchup - (sort of like cocktail sauce for shrimp?), w/a ketchup consistency. You can find it next to the ketchup in any big chain grocery. You can't go wrong with this recipe! I'm making it again for New Year's eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,087) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States