Cocktail Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very comparable to those made with grape jelly. They were OK. I was hoping for a "to die for" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are tasty and everyone loves at parties. I use frozen homestyle meatballs from Walmart though which is 2 lbs so I double the chili sauce, lemon juice, and brown sugar and use the entire 15 oz can of cranberry sauce. and per the suggestion of another reviewer, make the sauce in a pan, pour over meatballs and let sit overnight in fridge to develop flavor. They are always gone by end of the party but I wonder how much better they would be with homemade meatballs. When I have leftovers, I sometimes put a few over white jasmine rice mixed with sautéed onions, green peppers and pineapple. Makes a great weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Hardgrave

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These were so good and my party guests devoured them and asked for more! I wish I had made my own meatballs, I had no time, but that sauce made up for a frozen pre-made product. I had some fresh garlic on hand so I threw in about a teaspoon and 2 tablespoons of a sweet 3 pepper sauce I was serving separately and all I can say is Wow. I also ran out of time and threw the frozen pre-cooked meatballs with sauce on the oven for 20 minutes and voila! Done. Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
3/4 chili sauce? Could not even eat .., and my husband and I love spicy. Thought the cranberry would cut the heat. Please tell me what kind of chili sauce was meant to be used. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Simple & Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I followed the one review that suggested to double the recipe. So glad I did as they were the hit of the Christmas dinner. The only change I did was to double the brown sugar to make it alittle sweeter. I had to use meatloaf mix (beef/veal/pork)as that was what I had handy.They are even super cold. This recipe was a hit with everyone and I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is a keeper. I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to the meatball mixture. I also used a cranberry chutney I'd made instead of the cranberry sauce it calls for. They were a hit, and I'll make them again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These are fantastic! We hosted a large party recently and I made a double batch of these. Oh so very good, and pretty simple as well. I will most certainly be making these again. The only thing I did differently was use 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork, but I'm sure they'd be good no matter what meat you use. Oh, and I didn't turn the meatballs over in the middle of cooking, either. With so many of them I just thought that would take forever and didn't want to take the time since we had so much other food to prepare. They did have a slightly flattish spot that was browner than the rest of the ball, but really a non-issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I got 51 meatballs out of this recipe, which was a good amount. I didn't think they were very tasty, needs more spices. I also prefer the grape jelly sauce over the cranberry type sauce. This is the second cranberry type sauce I have tried, the other was about the same but had brown sugar added and I didn't care for that one either compared to the grape jelly version. I will not use this again and go back to my graoe jelly sauce recipe and find another recipe for meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Perfect sauce! I used it with the Chicken meatballs (pineapple jalepeño ones from Costco) and everyone raved about it! It is a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landenberg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,089) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States