Cocktail Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The recipe calls for chili sauce - it doesn't specify the brand. In my opinion, recipes are meant to be clear so anyone can replicate. I made the same mistake of using Thai sweet chili sauce and it was hot! I liked the meatballs, but they didn't disappear like they would have with a milder sauce. I thought the recipe was still good enough to try again with the Heinz chili sauce this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this NYE and it was a hit! Everyone ate them up. Made with frozen meatballs as time saver. I agree- use regular meatballs , not Italian. The longer they sit the better, and it only takes minutes to make. I have made other recipes and this is my go to now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made for new years were highly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe on this one and really did not like the end result at all. Will not be making this again. It really need something more savory in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simple and easy to make and the flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very comparable to those made with grape jelly. They were OK. I was hoping for a "to die for" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are tasty and everyone loves at parties. I use frozen homestyle meatballs from Walmart though which is 2 lbs so I double the chili sauce, lemon juice, and brown sugar and use the entire 15 oz can of cranberry sauce. and per the suggestion of another reviewer, make the sauce in a pan, pour over meatballs and let sit overnight in fridge to develop flavor. They are always gone by end of the party but I wonder how much better they would be with homemade meatballs. When I have leftovers, I sometimes put a few over white jasmine rice mixed with sautéed onions, green peppers and pineapple. Makes a great weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Hardgrave

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These were so good and my party guests devoured them and asked for more! I wish I had made my own meatballs, I had no time, but that sauce made up for a frozen pre-made product. I had some fresh garlic on hand so I threw in about a teaspoon and 2 tablespoons of a sweet 3 pepper sauce I was serving separately and all I can say is Wow. I also ran out of time and threw the frozen pre-cooked meatballs with sauce on the oven for 20 minutes and voila! Done. Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
3/4 chili sauce? Could not even eat .., and my husband and I love spicy. Thought the cranberry would cut the heat. Please tell me what kind of chili sauce was meant to be used. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Simple & Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,094) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States