Cocktail Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Fantastic! Everybody loves these. Like other reviewers, I think it calls for a bit more chili sauce. I used a 4 lb. bag of frozen meatballs, a 32 oz. jar of grape jam, a 12 oz. jar of chili sauce and 2 Tbsp. mustard. It helps a great deal to warm the sauce mixture in a saucepan and whisk it up so the jelly breaks down and it's nicely combined before pouring over the meatballs. I started this with frozen meatballs with the crockpot on low and they were perfect in 4 hours. Kept them on low throughout the party. UPDATE: Made again with a big package (Costco) of Aidells Chicken and Pineapple Terriyaki meatballs and it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Really good! i put a costco pack of frozen meatballs (3/4 of the italian meatball pack.. .it was all that would fit in the crock pot!), two heinz bottles of chili sauce, 40 oz of smuckers grape jelly (2 squeeze tubes), a pinch of kosher salt, 1 tablespoon of worchishire sauce and 2 TBSP of regular mustard. Really easy, the meatballs were gone in 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Made these as an appetizer for a large gathering. 15 pounds (3 bags) of armour carmelized pre-made meatballs, 3 jars of chile sauce 1 jar of grape jelly, I used powdered mustard and 3 tablespoons of chili powder. Put the sauce over the meatballs in a crock pot, they were gone in 1/2 hour. Everyone was coming in the kitchen looking for more and then asking for the recipe. I felt foolish because it's so simple! This is a TNT (tried and true) keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I was pretty skeptical about this recipe, I mean grape jelly and chili sauce? It sounds like an unlikely combo. But I was having 60 people for my son's first birthday and needed something easy that I could make in advance so I tried it. I used frozen cocktail meatballs (3 lb bag). They were gone after about 10 minutes, and everyone was asking for more (in spite of there being plenty of everything else on the table) They were FANTASTIC. I wish I'd made twice as many. The only changes I made were to use a whole jar of each grape jelly and chili sauce, a tablespoon or so of dijon and about the same of worcester sauce. I dumped everything in the crockpot and left in on low for about 4 hours. AMAZING. Easy and a huge crowd pleaser! I will make again for New Year's! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made these meatballs for a Super Bowl Party and they came out great. Everyone wanted the recipe. I made my own italian meatballs and used one jar of Heinz chili sauce and one jar of Smuckers grape jelly with 2 tab. of Nance's Sharp and Creamy mustard. I cooked the sauce ingredients on the stove top until well blended and bubbly and then put the meatballs after they were cooked in the oven into my crockpot and poured the sauce on top and let them cook on low for 3 hrs. Perfect. They were tasty and moist. You just have to remember to give them a stir into the sauce every once in a while if they're not already gone by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Delicious! I used frozen meatballs and turned out great. I also used the entire jar of jelly (18oz) and the whole bottle of chili sauce. Put in the crockpot on low for about 90 minutes. They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
These are soooooo good! My husband and daughter loved them as much as I did and it's not easy to find something all of us like! We had a package of frozen meatballs in the freezer that we didn't like (a different brand than we normally buy) and I decided I would use them up at an upcoming potluck so I came here to look for ideas. When I came across this recipe I read it aloud to my husband and he kept saying "grape jelly?" We were very curious so he asked me to make them a head of time. He couldn't believe I used the same meatballs that he didn't like previously when I used them with speghetti. Anyway - other than using frozen meatballs I followed the recipe exact and I highly recommend. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Another old family favorite! Definitely try these meatballs! I personally use the pre-made meatballs (frozen) to save time. Everyone always loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Great recipe, although I added a little more jelly for a better taste, and used frozen meatballs. I just dumped it all in the crockpot and let it cook for 2 hours. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I can't go to a family holiday without people begging me to make this recipe! They call it my "special meat"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States