Cocktail Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
There is one major problem with this recipe. Its doesn't tell you what kind of chili sauce to use. I think you are suppose to use a tomato based chili sauce. The first time I made it, it was really sweet and I couldn't taste the chili sauce at all. The second time I made it I added more chili sauce and it was sooo hot. That was probably because I used "pure" chili sauce with no tomato base since the recipe didn't specify. You should use a tomato based chili sauce and add about 1 tbsp per pound of meat more than what the recipe calls for and it will be perfect. The best thing about this recipe is the mustard, it really adds something and is even better if you use an equal amount of worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Good meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My Mom always served these at our annual Christmas party in the 1970's in a chafing dish. This recipe reminds me of Christmas. Just as good now as then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this thanksgiving day using lil smoke sausages...turned out great my girls loved them, will def, make this again probably at christmas, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Not only did i use frozen meatballs i also sliced hillshire beef smoke sausage into bite size and had a bowl of each. They were a winner at our anniversary gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have used this recipe for years and it is requested each time. I bake them about a hour and stir them at least twice so all of the meatballs are coated. The longer you bake them the more flavor!! This is almost too easy to be this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
So easy and great for any occasion. I substitute 1 pound of sausage for beef and it really adds zest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really liked the sauce on these. But, I have to admit that I did use frozen meatballs, so I am rating it based on that, because I did not have a lot of time. I served them as an appetizer, on a plate with tooth pics in them, at a holiday party. I also had a basket of bread rolls right near, which a lot of people ate them with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These were great! I added a little spicy brown mustard and some Worchestershire sauce. Really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I used frozen meatballs also. Made these for a bridal shower, and they were gone so quick! Everyone was asking for the recipe and raving over these! I also thought they were wonderful :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States