Cocktail Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I made these for a Boy Scout Dish-to-Pass Dinner and EVERYONE loved them! I used Onion Mushroop soup mix, as that was all I had! Instead of bread, I used crumbled saltine crackers. I did not have half & half, therefore, used milk and one egg. In the sauce: I added 1/2 tsp. Chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, dash hot pepper sauce and 1 Tablespoon Vinegar--because I didnt' want a sauce with a strong Ketchup flavor. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Very good! I made them for a party and got rave reviews. To make it easier I bought the meatballs already made. Sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Wow...I finally found a sauce to complement my meatballs. I do agree...do not by frozen meatballs as homemade is much better. The upgrades I incorporated were 2 tbls of sour cream as it made the meat much moister, 1 (28 oz) bottle of Heintz Tobasco Ketcup (for a little more zip) and a few splashes of Franks Red Hot Origianl sauce. I then added a few more splashes of red tobasco sauce and a little bit of water in the slow cooker so as to take away some of the "ketchupy" taste while maintaining a moist sauce. These were a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I used frozen meatballs and then mixed the ingredients together to make the sauce (including the onion soup). I just put it all together on the stove on low until heated through. They were very good. My husband had about 15 friends over and the guys even cheered a beer to me and the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Yummy!....says the whole family and surprise guests that showed up for dinner. Will make again and again, and even for a party this Saturday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I made this for a party, everyone loved them. I combined the meatballs with cocktail wieners. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I was looking for a simple yet good meatball recipe and this was "the one"! Everyone loved it. The only suggestion I would make was to double the sauce just to make sure they are extra coated. They were all gone fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2taylgn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I used Heinz Ketchup with Tabasco instead of regular ketchup, cooked them 18 minutes and made them for a crawfish boil. They were eaten so fast that i didn't even get to try one! Everyone raved and asked for the recipe. This is now on my list of great appetizers. they freeze really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I brought this to our family's Christmas Eve get-together and everyone raved. The amount of sauce worked perfectly for a large bag of Mama Lucia's frozen meatballs, which I warmed together in the crock pot. For my own taste, the sauce was a little thick/heavy... but no one else seemed to think so, so 5 stars it is! I did add the juice of 1 lemon, just to give it a little pep, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
When I'm in a hurry I buy a big bag of frozen meatballs and make the sauce. It's delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States