Cocktail Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are the best cocktail meatballs! I usually make these for an appetizer/cocktail party I have before Christmas and they disappear so quickly. Now I have constant requests for these all year long. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe. I was first introduced to it by my sister after she made them one night when I was over for dinner. They are absolutely delicious. Of course, I was a bit apprehensive about the texture of the onion soup mix being too much for the meatball, but it actually worked well. I have to admit, while this recipe is great on its own, I did make a few changes. I used bread crumbs instead of the white bread slices called for, and I also added some Honey Barbecue sauce to the recipe, which I think gave the sauce a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I thought these meatballs were ok but my friends seemed to like them. I made them a little to big I think and was dissapointed that the onion soup mix made them lumpy and coarse. I think if I make these again I will try for a smother (and smaller) meatball by using seperate ingreditents as opposed to the onion soup mixture. The sauce tasted good, it was a little sweet but I think that is what cocktail meatballs are meant to taste like. I think with the sauce I might try adding a little viengar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
These were good. The men especially loved them. I personally don't think they would taste as good cheating with store bought meatballs because cooking the meatballs in the sauce is what flavors the sauce, and you wouldn't get the exact same effect from frozen/pre-cooked balls, but that's just my opinion. They tasted too "ketchupy" at first, but after 4 hours in the slow cooker they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I usually end up using store-bought turkey meatballs, but this is my favorite sauce. It's a big hit with the kiddos and at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These were really good but didn't knock my socks off. I would not use hand torn bread again though. I would use the traditional bread crumbs; the bread pieces were sometimes to evident even if I tore them quite small. Missing a bit of zing for my taste but if you like a very sweet cocktail meatball, this one's for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Meatballs were delicious. I have made them twice now and everyone loved them. Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These were SOOOO good!!!! Everyone at my party enjoyed them. I used a bottle of ketchup that was a few ounces less than the recipe, added a tablespoon or so of molasses, and a little extra brown sugar to make it less ketchupy tasting. It was fantastic!!!! I can't wait to make these again. They were also very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I cheated and used premade meatballs - since mine never end up with enough flavor...The sauce was very good!! My husband took leftovers to work and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Yum! Made a half recipe, ended up with 20 balls, probably a little on the too big side, but there was plenty of sauce to go around. Rated 4 b/c of changes I made. I did half ketchup, half chili sauce, added a little garlic powder and chili powder to meat mix, and mustard powder to sauce. I didn't have the onion soup mix, so I used a recipe from another website: 4 t. onion flakes, 3/4 t. dried parsley, 1/2 t. onion powder, 1/2 t. turmeric, 1/4 t. salt, 1/4 t. sugar, 1/8 t. pepper. The sauce was a little on the sweet sauce, I'd put less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States