Cocktail Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I just put a whole bottle of chili sauce and a whole bottle of grape jelly together and put in a pot on the stove or in a slow cooker. If it gets too thick, I add some water. I do leave out the lemon juice. Everyone loves these. This has been a recipe I have been making for two decades. Use store bought frozen meatballs as a timesaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These meatballs are great! I also use a whole bottle of chili sauce and a bottle of jelly. I add of few spoons of the already prepared minced garlic though for that extra kick. I also use Mama Lucia's frozen meatballs. I place all of the ingredients in a slow cooker or even a large pot (glass) and let it simmer for 3 hours. My family loves them and I have a request to bring some for appetizers for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This sauce is wonderful! I served it with store bought meatballs and I couldn't keep enough of them for our Christmas Eve family get together. Now I have requests for the recipe, and my daughter is even requesting it for a college graduation party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have been making this family favorite for more than 20 years! Usually I buy frozen meatballs, a whole jar of grape JELLY and a whole bottle of CHILI sauce. Throw it in a crockpot on low for 5 hours or so and it's ready to eat! I have also served this with noodles for a meal. The ingredients don't sound too appetizing together, but boy, is it ever delicious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These are the best meatballs & SO easy to make! Everyone loves these! I gave this 4 starts because I make the meatballs with chopped onion, breadcrumbs, egg & salt & pepper just to give them a little more flavor. I also add more chili sauce. These can be browned & then put in the crockpot with the sauce to simmer on low for 3-4 hours. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I use Cocktail sauce and store bought meatballs, but buy the premium meatballs, not the ones with a lot of fillers or they'll be mushy. This is a tip I received from an employee at Gordons Foods. This recipe is one my family and friends request all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I used store bought meatballs and used one jar of Chili Sause and one jar of grape jelly with a tad of lemon juice in a crock pot and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious recipe. I agree with others who use frozen/pre-cooked meatballs. They worked just fine. I used 2 lbs. of meatballs so I doubled the recipe. I have made them twice now and I have concluded that they taste better the next day. Cook a day ahead and place in the fridge overnite to "marinade."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by survivor24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mariemont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Variation: Seedless raspberry jam instead of grape. My family has used this recipe for years (with store bought meatballs). Guests always love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melonee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
To make enough for a crowd, use a large bag of frozen mini meatballs. Pour them (frozen) into your crockpot, and in a separate bowl, mix a 32 oz., jar of grape jelly with 3 jars of Heinz chili sauce. When it is completely mixed, pour over meatballs and cover. Cook on low for 4+ hours. This takes a few minutes of prep, and it smells wonderful as your guests arrive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgarben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States