Cocktail Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
When we make this we usually use grape jelly and bbq sauce in equal amounts, but this was good too! I also left out the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have been making this family favorite for more than 20 years! Usually I buy frozen meatballs, a whole jar of grape JELLY and a whole bottle of CHILI sauce. Throw it in a crockpot on low for 5 hours or so and it's ready to eat! I have also served this with noodles for a meal. The ingredients don't sound too appetizing together, but boy, is it ever delicious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I use Cocktail sauce and store bought meatballs, but buy the premium meatballs, not the ones with a lot of fillers or they'll be mushy. This is a tip I received from an employee at Gordons Foods. This recipe is one my family and friends request all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This recipe sounds absolutely disgusting but tastes ohhh so good. I just want to know who sits around and thinks Hey let's put chili sauce and grape jelly together and see how it tastes. YUCK lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious recipe. I agree with others who use frozen/pre-cooked meatballs. They worked just fine. I used 2 lbs. of meatballs so I doubled the recipe. I have made them twice now and I have concluded that they taste better the next day. Cook a day ahead and place in the fridge overnite to "marinade."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by survivor24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mariemont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I had to try this, because I couldn't imagine how grape jelly and chili sauce could make something palatable. It didn't. The twang bites your tongue. The grape jelly even smells funky cooking. Use one of the recipes that steers clear of the grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Don't let the strange combination fool you. We've been making these for years and they always get devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Our family has been enjoying this recipe for years. Great flavor, SO easy! I use the frozen turkey meatballs. I like the review calling them "Grape Balls", I think I will adopt that name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I have made this for years and it is very good. I have always called them "Grape Meatballs" so people will raise their eyebrows and be skeptical. Then they taste it and enjoy it. I sometimes put a few crushed saltines or breadcrumbs in the meatballs and it does not change a thing (I do this when I have saltines or breadcrums to use up). I serve these as a main course over saffron rice or wide Amish noodles and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I do not know what people see in these because I think they taste gross. I could only taste the chili sauce. I was thinking there would be a sweetness from the jelly, but there wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States