Cocktail Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Someone in my family makes this for every event. We love it. If you don't have chili sauce use tomato sauce and a chili packet of mild or regular to your taste. I also skip the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've been making these meatballs since the '80s and they are always a favorite with everyone and there are never any leftovers. I buy the frozen plain meatballs (don't get the Italian seasoned ones) and put them in the crockpot with a jar of grape jelly and a jar of chili sauce about 4 hours before needed. You can also use ketchup instead of chili sauce if preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Do this too both homemade and store "premium" meatballs if time doesn't permit homemade. It a great dish to have on a buffet or take to a potluck in one of the smaller sized crock pots. Just add hot cook meatballs to stirred sauce ingredients and turn on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giardino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The sauce is amazing, so a 5 stars for that, but meatballs made without seasoning are disgusting. For 1 lb, add 1/2 minced onion, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1 slice of bread or 1/4 cup oats soaked in milk, salt, pepper, 2 tbsp Worcestershire. Now you have a good meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Had to chuckle when I saw this recipe. My mom used to make this when I was a kid (I am 59) and I still use it today. She also used currant jelly which I think is better if you can find it seedless. Less sweet with a more interesting taste. Great and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Before you buy those frozen bags of meatballs, read the ingredients. I suspected once when I tried to thaw them in the microwave and they shrank to 1/3 of the size and turned hard as a rock. Meat doesn't do that. It CONTAINS meat, but if you make your own, you'll be getting all meat and nothing else. No comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've used a similar recipe for years. I use turkey meat, add an egg and some bread crumbs, roll into smaller meatballs (golf ball size are NOT cocktail size). The sauce is a jar of chili sauce (the whole jar) plus 10.5 oz grape jelly (the size that looks like a drinking glass). Then fill the chili sauce jar up halfway with water, cap and shake so all the leftover chili sauce that sticks to the bottle combines with the water...dump all that in the pot too. I don't use lemon at all. Best of all, you can make ahead and freeze...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe, but when I am short on time, I use 2 bags (2lbs.) of Trader Joe's Cocktail meatballs. They taste great and it is easy... Then I serve in a Crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Much easier if you just purchase pre-made, frozen meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Great recipe. If you can find it, substitute grape jelly for currant jelly. Really good. I also use a jar of each. Jelly and Chili Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States