Cocktail Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these with gluten-free bread crumbs, for my husband who has celiac disease and they were wonderful. No one knew the difference. The only changes I made were that I baked the meatballs for 20 minutes to brown them and then placed them in the Crock-Pot for 3 hours. I also added a can of cranberry sauce instead of the grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were very easy to fix and there was plenty of sauce too. The sauce was really sweet and a little spicy, but mostly sweet. My meatballs came out dry, but it may have been the super lean ground beef I used, maybe a less lean blend would have worked out better? The meatballs were really tasty without the sauce and would work with any variety of sauces. These didn't make our favorites so I probably won't make them again as is. Too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made the meatballs and froze them until I was ready to use. After thawing, I made the sauce and served in a croq pot. Everyone loved them and people requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These are great! and so easy. I make the sauce in two batches one with less jelly(a little more spicy) for the adults,set aside, next with more jelly (more sweet)for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These are great!! Everyone loves these. I just buy frozen meatballs and put in a crockpot with the sauce. Super easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made a whole lot of these for a big party at church, warmed them in a slow cooker. Many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
We use the chili sauce/grape jelly as a sauce for cocktail weiners (i.e. Lil smokies). We have them EVERY Christmas Eve after church while we're opening gifts with the immediate family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These little meatballs are fantastic and a crowd pleaser! I don't like the sweet and spicy sauces made with grape jelly, so I substitute black cherry All Fruit, with incredible results! I used the Try Me Tiger Sauce, which adds just the right amount of heat (to satisfy your palate, play around with the measurements of jelly and hot sauce). Also, I used EVOO to brown the meatballs because I never have shortening in the house. Wonderful, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Very easy. Threw in the slow cooker for a party. Not sure if I liked the brand of chile sauce that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I have made these meatball many times using store bought meatballs for ease, dump chili sauce, jelly and meatballs(frozen) in crockpot and cook until bubbly and hot.... good crowd pleaser. Good for football parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States