Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
These just didn't do it for me. I wanted to like them because a friend of mine has a similar recipe that uses grape jelly, and hers are great, but I did not care for this recipe. The sauce tasted a little better than the meatballs, but I'll never make these again. I used ground sirloin, Italian bread crumbs, and baked the meatballs instead of frying them, but I can't imagine those changes making the difference between a five-star recipe and one that I threw away after a couple of bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
These are very good meatballs and very, very easy to make. I made them a second time this week - for a Valentines Party for mom's/kid's - and it was a hit! I usually have a family Valentine dinner, so I used a big bag of frozen MB's from Sam's thinking there would be at least half a crockpot full of leftovers for the dinner - wrong!! About a dozen were left because everyone just loved them. I did make one addition this time and that was to add a can of cranberry jelly which changed up the flavor just a bit from the usual recipe that makes the rounds quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made the recipe even easier by simply buying frozen meatballs. Can't get any easier than this for a crowd. I also tried strawberry jelly and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Well, this was not a success for me. I brought these to an office party and they were barely eaten. Noone went back for seconds and I didn't receive any compliments. I personally thought the "grape" taste was a little strong and it was too sweet. Definitely won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
These were so good. Everyone loved them. I baked the meatballs instead of frying them and kept them in the freezer for a few days. The day I needed them I put them in the crock pot with the sauce for about three or four hours. The extra time cooking in the sauce gave the meatballs a candied texture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Everyone loved these, even after they had heard that there was grape jelly in them. Thanks for the DELICIOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Meatballs were amazing! I got so many compliments on them, even from people who normally don't like meatballs at all. Thumbs up. The sauce was really liked too, but to my taste a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I have been using this recipe since the 70's taken from a certain iconic lady's cookbook with the initials "BC". My extended family always requests I bring this on holiday get-togethers (in the crockpot of course). Men and kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These were a hit at our New Years party, and they re-heat very well. I used frozen Italian meatballs as some had said and that made it very simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
A good recipe. The house smelled great making them and homemade is always better than frozen. My guests didn't eat these up, though. Now I'm wishing I'd done a bbq style so the leftovers would make good subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States