Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I used this recipe as a base recipe, so I am reviewing it, even though I made some changes. I'm not going to go into all of the additions I made, (mostly cause I don't remember everything I added) but I do want to say this is a pretty good base recipe. I used Heinz chili sauce, which tasted like a slightly spicier version of ketchup and so with the grape jelly it tasted really ketchupy, so I would recommend adding some kind of spice to it, maybe smoke flavoring, and if you like your sauce sweeter, add more grape jelly, possibly some brown sugar. As for the meatballs, they were good, but had a strange texture to me, really mushy tasting, even though they were definitely cooked all the way through,. Not sure what the cause of the texture was or if they are supposed to be that way, but the flavor was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I bought premade meatballs to save time. This is easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Family liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were good, but not fantastic. Not sure what I would change to make them fantastic -- they're pretty close already. Possibly a shot of vinegar-based hot sauce? Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Was a big hit at the party! I added some red bell pepper at the end the flavors mixed well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I haven't made them yet, but will do so tomorrow morning for our department's holiday food fest. Based on the number of high ratings, I know these will be a big hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These were pretty darn good! I used someone else's suggestion of adding worchestershire sauce, garlic, a little hot sauce, and dry mustard, and really liked the doctored up sauce. I did use frozen meatballs, which I never do, but even those weren't bad ... they were a good firm texture, good for eating on toothpicks on a buffet. I do suggest cooking the meatballs first before tossing in the crockpot with the sauce ... yes, it's a little more work, but enough grease cooked out of them to make it seem worthwhile. May make these again for Christmas next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have made these every christmas eve for years and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This can be used with frozen meatballs, but the homemade ones are much nicer. Save time by cooking the meatballs right in the sauce - the meatballs really soak up the flavours. If made a day ahead it's easy to skim off any fat. If you find the sauce too sweet just adjust the ratio of grape jelly to chilli sauce to your taste. Freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This rating is just for the sauce. I was lazy and bought frozen cocktail meatballs! The sauce was so simple yet so yummy. Got many compliments on it and MANY raised eyebrows when I told people what was in the sauce! I quadrupled the sauce recipe for a party and used 1 1/2 bags of frozen meatballs (containing about 96 meatballs) and it all fit perfectly in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States